Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts


Peyton Manning, who last Friday was named the Associated Press' NFL Most Valuable Player for a third time, on Tuesday was named the 2008 NFL Player of the Year at the quarterback position by the NFL Alumni. Manning was among 10 NFL players honored by the group.


Manning Among 10 Honored by NFL Alumni
INDIANAPOLIS – The honors continue for Peyton Manning.

Manning, the Colts' nine-time Pro Bowl quarterback who was named the Associated Press' NFL Most Valuable Player last week, on Tuesday was named the 2008 NFL Player of the Year at the quarterback position by the NFL Alumni.

He was among 10 NFL players honored by the group.

Manning last week became one of three players to win AP MVP – considered the league's most-prestigious individual honor – three times, joining Brett Favre and Jim Brown. On Monday, he was named one of three finalists for the 2008 FedEx Air NFL Player of the Year Award.

After missing training camp and preseason after undergoing knee surgery in July, Manning began the season by throwing 10 touchdowns and nine interceptions in the first seven games.

At the time, the Colts were 3-4, were under .500 after seven games for the first time since 1998 and had just lost back-to-back road games by double digits for the first time since Colts Head Coach Tony Dungy's 2002 arrival.

In nine regular-season games thereafter, Manning – who was named the AFC's Offensive Player of the Week three times this season – completed 209 of 290 passes for 2,153 yards and 17 touchdowns with three interceptions. The Colts won all nine games, beating three division champions – Pittsburgh, San Diego and Tennessee – and also beating New England, which finished 11-5.

In the last nine games, he had eight games with a passer rating over 90 and in December, he completed 90 of 110 passes for 1,054 yards and eight touchdowns with no interceptions. Manning finished the season having completed 371 of 555 passes for 4,002 yards and 27 touchdowns with 12 interceptions for a 95.0 passer rating, his sixth consecutive season with a rating of 95.0 or better.

Manning's 27 touchdown passes went to seven different receivers, with wide receiver Reggie Wayne and tight end Dallas Clark catching six touchdowns, wide receiver Anthony Gonzalez catching four and wide receiver Marvin Harrison catching five.

Running back Dominic Rhodes has caught three touchdown passes, with running back Joseph Addai catching two and tight end Tom Santi catching one. It was the first time since 1998, his rookie season, Manning has not had a receiver catch at least 10 touchdown passes.

The players honored by the NFL Alumni Tuesday:

• Quarterback: Manning.

• Running back: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota.

• Wide Receiver: Andre Johnson, Houston.

• Tight end: Jason Witten, Dallas.

• Offensive lineman: Alan Faneca, New York Jets

• Defensive lineman: Albert Haynesworth, Tennessee.

• Pass rusher: DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.

• Linebacker: James Harrison, Pittsburgh.

• Defensive back: Ed Reed, Baltimore

• Special teams: Leon Washington, New York Jets.

• Coach: Tony Siami.

The honorees were decided by a process in which former players cast ballots for modern players who played their positions.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!