Skip to main content


Offensive linemen Ryan Lilja and Jeff Saturday and tight end Dallas Clark have been recognized for awards.


Offensive Linemen Ryan Lilja, Jeff Saturday, Tight End Dallas Clark Cited for Awards

Offensive guard Ryan Lilja has been chosen by local media members covering the Indianapolis Colts as this season's recipient of the Thomas W. Moses, Sr./Noble Max Award, while Dallas Clark has been named NFL Alumni Tight End of the Year and center Jeff Saturday has been named as one of three finalists for the 2010 Bart Starr Award.

Lilja started all 16 games in the 2009 regular season after missing the entire 2008 season with a knee injury. In 2009, Lilja helped the Colts offensive line allow a league-low 13 sacks, also a franchise-best.

The sixth-year veteran was not selected in the 2004 NFL Draft and was waived by Kansas City following the preseason. The Colts claimed Lilja off waivers that September and the Shawnee, Kan., native has started 59 of 66 regular-season games in his six seasons with the club. Since joining the team, the Colts have allowed a league-low 99 sacks, while amassing 5,000-plus yards each season.

The Moses, Sr./Noble Max Award was created by the Colts in 1985 to cite a player who overcomes adversity or whose performance exceeds expectations. The media covering the club votes on the award.

A $1,000 check will be presented in Lilja's name to Noble of Indiana, a Central Indiana agency benefiting more than 2,000 children and adults with disabilities.

Clark received the honor from NFL Alumni, in which the voting process consists of former NFL players voting for the top player at the position they once played themselves. Clark finished the 2009 regular season with career-highs with 100 catches and 1,106 yards, while also recording his second double-digit touchdown season with 10. Clark became the second tight end in NFL history to record 100 or more catches in a season. The 2009 awardees will be honored at the Player-of-the-Year Awards Dinner on Friday, February 5, in Hollywood, Fla., the weekend leading up to Super Bowl XLIV.

Saturday was named one of three finalists for the 2010 Bart Starr Award, which honors one NFL player for outstanding character and leadership in the home, on the field and in the community. The other finalists are Arizona quarterback Kurt Warner and New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees.

Saturday is competing in his 11th NFL season and has made a difference in the community by helping the Susan G. Komen for the Cure cause, Sharon Bassett Foundation and serves on the board for Kids' Voice among other efforts.

Saturday was named to his fourth Pro Bowl this season and has started 156 games for the franchise since joining the squad as a free agent in 1999.

The Bart Starr Award is voted on by NFL players and is named after NFL Hall of Famer, Bart Starr. The award honors the player who best exemplifies Starr's commitment to family, teammates and the community.

The winner of the Bart Starr Award will be announced during the 23rd Annual NFL-Sanctioned Super Bowl Breakfast, hosted by Athletes in Action, on Saturday February 6th, 2010 at 8:00 a.m. EST at the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa in Hollywood, Fla.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.