Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts

NFL: NFC Championship Game

What to look for when the Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers meet in the NFC Championship Game this weekend.


HELLO AGAIN : The Chicago Bears and Green Bay Packers have met 181 times, which includes only one meeting in the postseason (1941). When the two clubs play for the NFC Championship this weekend, it will mark the longest gap (based on days) between postseason meetings in NFL history.

DIVISION FOES : For the sixth time since the merger, the NFC Championship Game will be contested between division rivals. Chicago and Green Bay split the regular-season series, with each team winning on its home field. The Bears defeated the Packers 20-17 in Week 3, while the Packers were victorious in Week 17, 10-3.

DON'T PACK IT IN : With a win this Sunday, the Green Bay Packers couldbecome the fourth team to win three consecutive road playoff games en route to the Super Bowl. The team could also become the first NFC No. 6 seed to reach the Super Bowl.

GRACIOUS HOST : There have been 13 postseason games played at Soldier Field since 1970, with the Bears compiling a 7-6 record in those contests.

This weekend, Soldier Field will host its 14th playoff game, the third-most playoff games hosted by a stadium in the NFC since 1970. Candlestick Park holds the record with 24 NFC postseason games during that span.

MR. RODGERS : Green Bay Packers quarterback AARON RODGERS has thrown 10 touchdown passes in his first three postseason starts, the most in NFL history.

Rodgers will make his fourth postseason start in Chicago this Sunday. With two touchdown passes, Rodgers can surpass Pro Football Hall of Famer TROY AIKMAN and KURT WARNER (11) for the most touchdown passes in the first four postseason starts of any quarterback in NFL history .

Rodgers, who has thrown six touchdowns this postseason, can also challenge the record for the most touchdown passes thrown in a single conference playoffs.

NFC TROPHY PRESENTATION : The winner of the NFC Championship Game will be presented with the GEORGE HALAS TROPHY.

Halas, the late owner of the Chicago Bears and a founder of the NFL, is the second-winningest coach in history (324-151-31) behind DON SHULA (347-173-6). He won six NFL championships with the Bears and is a charter enshrinee of the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1963).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!