Skip to main content


Presented by

Colts Lose Coin Toss, Will Draft 15th Overall In April

Intro: The Colts lost Friday’s coin toss with the Minnesota Vikings, meaning they will select in the 15th overall position in this year’s NFL Draft. A look at the complete draft order for the Colts in 2017.


INDIANAPOLIS – With a coin flip showing the Vikings helmet right side up on Friday, the Colts learned they will be selecting 15th overall in the 2017 NFL Draft.

The loss of Friday's coin flip has the Colts in the 15th position come Round One in April.

With Friday's coin flip, and waiting confirmation from the NFL, the Colts' draft order for 2017 is expected to be as followed:

  • 1st Round (15th overall)
  • 2nd Round (46th overall)
  • 3rd Round (80th overall)
  • 4th Round (122nd overall)
  • 4th Round via compensatory (144th overall)
  • 5th Round (158th overall)
  • 6th Round (200th overall)
  • 7th Round (traded to Cleveland)

Having five picks in the first four rounds is something the Colts have not had going into a draft since 2009.

This year's draft will be from April 27-29 in Philadelphia. The draft will once again run Thursday-Saturday. Round 1 will take place on Thursday, Rounds 2-3 will run on Friday and Round 4-7 will commence on Saturday.

Since 1970, the Colts have selected in the 15th spot of a draft just once in team history: 1996: DT-Ellis Johnson (Florida).

Since coming to Indianapolis, the Colts have chosen in the 11-20 range on six different occasions:

  • 1984: OG-Ron Solt (19th overall)
  • 1995: DL-Ellis Johnson (15th overall)
  • 1996: WR-Marvin Harrison (19th overall)
  • 1997: OT-Tarik Glenn (19th overall)
  • 2002: DE-Dwight Freeney (11th overall)
  • 2016: C-[Ryan Kellyinternal-link-placeholder-0] (18th overall)

Over the past decade, the 15th overall selection has led to some Pro Bowl talent via the likes of LB-Derrick Johnson (2005), DE-Jason Pierre-Paul (2010) and OG-Mike Pouncey (2011).

Six of the last 10 players drafted 15th overall have gone on to make Pro Bowls.

Past No. 15 Picks

2016 (Browns): WR-Corey Coleman, Baylor

2015 (Chargers): RB-Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin

2014 (Steelers): LB-Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

2013 (Saints): S-Kenny Vaccaro, Texas

2012 (Seahawks): DE-Bruce Irvin, West Virginia

The analysis from those producing content on does not necessarily represent the thoughts of the Indianapolis Colts organization. Any conjecture, analysis or opinions formed by content creators is not based on inside knowledge gained from team officials, players or staff.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.