Skip to main content


Coach Reed May of Brownstown Central High School named sixth Coach of the Week for 2008


The 2008 season marks the eleventh year the Indianapolis Colts will be recognizing outstanding Indiana High School football coaches through the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week program, presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield.

The Brownstown Central Braves beat the Seymour Owls Friday night in a game which was closely contested.  The Braves knocked off the Owls 31-27 behind Head Coach Reed May's coaching prowess. The win marked the first time that Brownstown Central has ever beaten Seymour.  

The Coach of the Week program was designed to recognize high school coaches who transform, through their hard work and dedication to young people, the best available athletes into high potential football players.

All high school head coaches in the state of Indiana are eligible regardless of their school size, league or division.  Coaches are evaluated on various factors including the coach's impact on his team, school and community, as well as performance of the team.  The honorees are selected by a panel of high school football media, former athletic directors and other football representatives from all regions of the state.

Each Monday, following a high school football game weekend, one head coach will be recognized and announced. Coach Dungy will also announce each week's winner in his weekly press conference.

At the conclusion of the high school football season, each winning coach will receive a framed certificate signed by Colts President Bill Polian and Colts Youth Football Commissioner Mike Prior, as well as a $1,000 donation from NFL Charities.  In addition, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield will contribute $1,000 for the school's athletic fund.

The following coaches were recognized as honorable mentions for Week 6:

Region 1 - Leroy Marsh Munster               

Region 6 -   Mark Bless Mooresville         

Region 2 - Tim Dawson Concord

Region 7 -   Rick Streiff Cathedral

Region 3 - Russ Isaacs Ft. Wayne Snider    

Region 8 -   Bud Wright Sheridan

Region 4 - Brian Moore Seeger                 

Region 9 -   Shawn McDowell North Knox

Region 5 - Dan Snider Southwood 

Region 10 - Winner

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.