Skip to main content


Coach Bart Curtis of Mishawaka High School was named the seventh Colts/Anthem Coach of the Week for 2009


Mishawaka High School Cavemen, led by head coach Bart Curtis, defeated Class 5A #1 ranked Penn High School 26-10, to improve to 7-0. 

The 2009 season marks the twelfth year the Indianapolis Colts will be recognizing outstanding Indiana High School football coaches through the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week program, presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield.

The Coach of the Week program was designed to recognize high school coaches who transform, through their hard work and dedication to young people, the best available athletes into high potential football players.

All high school head coaches in the state of Indiana are eligible regardless of their school size, league or division.  Coaches are evaluated on various factors including the coach's impact on his team, school and community, as well as performance of the team.  The honorees are selected by a panel of high school football media, former athletic directors and other football representatives from all regions of the state.

Each Monday, following a high school football game weekend, one head coach will be recognized and announced. Coach Jim Caldwell will also announce each week's winner in his weekly press conference.

At the conclusion of the high school football season, each winning coach will receive a framed certificate signed by NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, Colts Head Coach Jim Caldwell, Colts President Bill Polian and Colts Youth Football Commissioner Mike Prior, as well as a $1,000 donation from NFL Charities.  In addition, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield will contribute $1,000 for the school's athletic fund.

The following coaches were recognized as honorable mentions for Week 7:

Region 1 –  Chip Pettit, Crown Point
Region 2 – WINNER  
Region 3 – Keith Thompson, Lakeland  
Region 4 – Tim Roth, Winamac
Region 5 –  Jason Simmons, Hamilton Heights   
Region 6 –   Larry McWhorter, Zionsville
Region 7 –  Bob Ashworth, Broad Ripple
Region 8 –  Matt Holeva, Centerville
Region 9 – Kelly Brashear, Washington
Region 10 –    Eric Heppner, Batesville

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.