Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts

The Indiana Football Digest's Insider 2017 Playoffs – Sectionals Semifinals

By Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea



Columbus East coach Bob Gaddis picked up career win No. 300 with the Olympians' 56-14 triumph over Bedford North Lawrence in Class 5A play.

Chris Barrett earned his 100th career win with Terre Haute North's 31-0 blanking of Evansville North in Class 5A action.

Eastern Greene had its first unbeaten regular season spoiled by having to forfeit wins over Mitchell, Perry Central, and Edinburgh for the use of an ineligible player.

Winamac had to forfeit its 48-7 victory over North Judson on September 15 because of the use of an ineligible player.

Indianapolis Cathedral eliminated defending Class 4A state champion Indianapolis Roncalli with a 28-23 win in Class 5A sectional action.

Southridge blanked defending Class 1A state champ Linton-Stockton, 20-0, in Class 2A tournament action.

Lafayette Jeff rallied for a 27-24 win over defending Class 5A state champion Westfield in Class 6A sectional semifinal play.

Indianapolis Broad Ripple suffered a 48-0 loss to Indianapolis Bishop Chatard in its final game with the school closing at the end of the 2017-18 school year. The Rockets finished 0-10 this season and ended with a 17-game losing streak.

Rockville's run came to an end with a 40-6 loss to Attica in Class 1A play. The Rox and Turkey Run will consolidate next year to become the Parke Heritage Wolves.

Zach Prairie has stepped down after two seasons at Kankakee Valley. He finished with a 6-15 record, including a 3-7 mark this past season.

Dave Coyle submitted his resignation this past week after five plus seasons in which he compiled a 28-31 record. Assistant coach Bill Marshall was in charge of the Vikings in their 13-0 loss to Penn.


Eastbrook, Pioneer, North Harrison, Angola, Lowell, Gibson Southern, and Lowell have an 11-game winning streak.

Decatur Central, Fort Wayne Snider, Griffith, Hagerstown, Lafayette Jeff, Lawrenceburg, New Palestine, New Prairie, and Indianapolis Ben Davis have won 10 straight games.

Columbus East and Penn have won nine consecutive games.

Adams Central has eight straight wins.


Clarksville has a 35-game losing streak.

Hammond Bishop Noll has lost 33 straight games.

Wood Memorial has suffered 28 straight losses.

South Bend Clay has suffered 22 losses in a row.

Anderson Prep Academy has dropped 18 straight contests.

Indianapolis Broad Ripple has a 17-game losing streak.

Fort Wayne North has suffered 16 losses in a row.

Crawfordsville has 15 consecutive losses

Indianapolis Washington has lost 13 games in a row.

Huntington North, Madison-Grant, Richmond, South Newton, and West Central have suffered 12 consecutive losses.

Clinton Central, Fremont, Rushville, and Whitko have dropped 11 straight games.

Dugger Union has lost 10 games in a row.

Caston, Madison and Southern Wells have a nine-game losing streak.


Here is the last time the following teams were 11-0: Eastbrook (2015), Pioneer (2016), North Harrison (first time), Angola (1992), Lowell (2015), Gibson Southern (2015), Danville (2002), Fort Wayne Snider (10-0-2016), Lafayette Jeff (10-0-2003), New Palestine (10-0-2016), Indianapolis Ben Davis (10-0-2001).


Here is the last time the following teams were 0-10: Madison-Grant (1999), Rushville (first time), Clinton Central (first time), Indianapolis Washington (2006), Edinburgh (2008), Clarksville (2016), West Central (first time), Fremont (2014), South Bend Clay (2016), Anderson Prep Academy (first time), South Newton (first time), Whitko (first time), Crawfordsville (2013), Fort Wayne North (2003), Richmond (first time), Dugger Union (1985), Indianapolis Broad Ripple (first time), Huntington North (first time), Hammond Bishop Noll (0-9-2016), Wood Memorial (0-7-2015).

WINNINGEST ACTIVE COACHES: Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 410, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 349, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 308, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 300, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 290, John Hart (Brownsburg) 283, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 253, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 251, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 248, Rick Streiff (Indianapolis Cathedral) 240, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 232, Leroy Marsh (Munster) 228, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 226, George Gilbert (Tri-Central) 222, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 221, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 217, Mark Bless (Avon) 213, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 212, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 204.


CLOSING IN ON 200: John Hendryx (Knox) 199, Kirk Kennedy (Franklin County) 192.

CLOSING IN ON 150:Steve Weber (Bedford North Lawrence) 148, Chris Svarczkopf (Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger) 147.

CLOSING IN ON 100: Brian Crabtree (North Vermillion) 99, Jayson West (Warren Central) 97, Kurt Tippmann (Fort Wayne Snider) 96, Aaron Tolle (Tipton) 95, Bob Miller (Fairfield) 93.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!