Skip to main content

The Indiana Football Digest's Insider 2017 Playoffs – Sectionals First Round

By Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea



Warren Central is mourning the passing of junior running back-linebacker Johnathan Smith, who lost his battle with cancer on October 17.

Columbus North coach Tim Bless and offensive line coach Aaron Karrer were suspended for the Bulldogs Class 6A sectional semifinal contest with Jeffersonville on October 27 for an altercation which took place during the Columbus North-Southport game on October 14. Both coaches are expected to be back on the sidelines for the Bulldogs' next contest.

Rockville's 38-8 victory over Turkey Run in the Class 1A playoffs marked the final game for the Warriors, who will ironically consolidate with Rockville next year. The Rox also snapped their 13-game losing streak in the process. Pending school board approval, the new team will be called the Parke Heritage Wolves.

Indianapolis Northwest's 62-6 loss to Indianapolis Bishop Chatard was the final game for the Space Pioneers. The school is scheduled to close at the end of the 2017-18 school year.

North Newton's 20-14 victory over Whiting was the Spartans' first triumph on the field against the Oilers since a 20-6 triumph in 1981.

Indianapolis Howe ended its 10-game losing streak with a 22-6 triumph over Indiana Deaf.

With a 7-2 record, Gary Roosevelt is in the midst of its first winning campaign since going 6-2 in 1987.

Penn defensive back Paul Moala has given his verbal commitment to attend the University of Notre Dame in the fall of 2018.

Keaton Cox's 16-yard touchdown run on the final play of regulation and two-point conversion pass to Avery Puckett lifted defending Class 1A state champion Linton-Stockton to a 36-35 win over North Posey.

Delta's Charlie Spegal closed out his sophomore campaign with 327 carries for 2,385 yards and 33 touchdowns.


The following coaches earned their first victory at their new school.

Terry Pendleton – Indianapolis Howe (22-6 over Indiana Deaf)


Eastbrook, Pioneer, North Harrison, Angola, Lowell, Gibson Southern, Lowell, and Eastern Greene have a 10-game winning streak.

Fort Wayne Snider, Lafayette Jeff, and New Palestine, and Indianapolis Ben Davis have won nine straight games.


Clarksville has a 35-game losing streak.

Hammond Bishop Noll has lost 33 straight games.

Wood Memorial has suffered 28 straight losses.

South Bend Clay has suffered 22 losses in a row.

Anderson Prep Academy has dropped 18 straight contests.

Indianapolis Broad Ripple has a 16-game losing streak.

Fort Wayne North has suffered 16 losses in a row.

Crawfordsville has 15 consecutive losses

Indianapolis Washington has lost 13 games in a row.

Edinburgh, Madison-Grant, Richmond, South Newton, and West Central have suffered 12 consecutive losses.

Huntington North, Clinton Central, Fremont, Rushville, and Whitko have dropped 11 straight games.


Here is the last time the following teams were 10-0: Eastbrook (2015), Pioneer (2016), North Harrison (first time), Angola (1992), Lowell (2015), Gibson Southern (2015), Danville (2002), Eastern Greene (first time), Fort Wayne Snider (9-0-2016), Lafayette Jeff (9-0-2003), New Palestine (9-0-2016), Indianapolis Ben Davis (9-0-2001).


Here is the last time the following teams were 0-10: Madison-Grant (1999), Rushville (first time), Clinton Central (first time), Indianapolis Washington (2006), Edinburgh (2008), Clarksville (2016), West Central (first time), Fremont (2014), South Bend Clay (2016), Anderson Prep Academy (first time), South Newton (first time), Whitko (first time), Crawfordsville (2013), Fort Wayne North (2003), Richmond (first time), Dugger Union (1985), Indianapolis Broad Ripple (0-9-first time), Huntington North (0-9-1977), Hammond Bishop Noll (0-9-2016), Wood Memorial (0-7-2015).

WINNINGEST ACTIVE COACHES: Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 409, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 348, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 307, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 299, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 289, John Hart (Brownsburg) 282, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 252, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 250, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 248, Rick Streiff (Indianapolis Cathedral) 239, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 232, Leroy Marsh (Munster) 228, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 225, George Gilbert (Tri-Central) 222, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 221, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 217, Mark Bless (Avon) 212, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 211, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 204.


CLOSING IN ON 200: John Hendryx (Knox) 199, Kirk Kennedy (Franklin County) 192.

CLOSING IN ON 150: Steve Weber (Bedford North Lawrence) 148, Chris Svarczkopf (Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger) 146.

CLOSING IN ON 100: Chris Barrett (Terre Haute North) 99, Brian Crabtree (North Vermillion) 99, Jayson West (Warren Central) 96, Kurt Tippmann (Fort Wayne Snider) 95, Aaron Tolle (Tipton) 95, Bob Miller (Fairfield) 93.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.