Indiana Football Digest Insider - 2019 Week Six

The Indiana Football Digest Insider is weekly recap of news, facts, trends, and streaks around Indiana high school football.



Anderson Prep Academy has cancelled the remainder of its season because of a lack of participants in the program.

South Adams ended Adams Central's 19-game regular season and 14-game Allen County Conference winning streaks with a 42-14 victory.

Indianapolis Scecina saw its 18-game Indiana Crossroads Conference winning streak snapped with a 42-21 loss to Indianapolis Lutheran.

Derek Thompson set the school record for rushing yards in a game with 33 carries for 305 yards and four touchdowns in the Braves' 34-28 win over Seymour.

Marion Lukes became Charlestown's all-time leading rusher with his 230 yards and four touchdowns in the Pirates' 47-7 win over Scottsburg. Lukes, who was also named homecoming king at halftime, now has 4,743 yards and 53 touchdowns for his career.


These coaches earned their first victory with their new team.

Dave Zorman – Cloverdale (26-24 over Brown County)


Here is the last time these teams were 6-0.

South Adams (1993), Merrillville (1998), Valparaiso (2010), East Central (2011), Boone Grove (first time), Lewis Cass (2006), Avon (1995), Eastern (Greentown) (2018), Delta (2009), New Palestine (2018), Knox (2017), Brownstown Central (2014), Silver Creek (2017), Concord (2017), Lafayette Jeff (2017), East Noble (2004), West Noble (1981), New Prairie (2013), Mishawaka Marian (2016), West Washington (2016), Heritage Hills (2018), Southridge (2016), Evansville Memorial (2018), Homestead (2012), Southwood (2018), Parke Heritage (first time), Traders Point Christian (5-0-2018), Indianapolis Lutheran (5-0-first time), Indianapolis Tindley (5-0-first time).

Here is the last time these teams were 0-6.

Jay County (1991), Washington (2014), Elwood (2018), Madison Grant (2017), Connersville (2018), Hammond Gavit (2002), Northwestern (2018), Benton Central (2018), Shelbyville (1993), Caston (2018), Monrovia (2005), Edinburgh (2018), Eastern (Pekin) (2014), Perry Meridian (2017), South Newton (2018), Muncie Central (2010), Bellmont (2018), South Bend Saint Joseph (1978), South Bend Adams (2006), Munster (first time), Pike Central (2010), Crawfordsville (2018), Frankfort (2018), Evansville Harrison (2009), Eastern Greene (2006), Fort Wayne Wayne (2015), Whitko (2018), Fountain Central (2001), Owen Valley (2018), Gary Roosevelt (2016), Indianapolis Manual (2014), Griffith (0-5-2014), Hammond (0-5-2018), Indianapolis Shortridge (0-5-first time).


New Palestine has earned 20 consecutive victories.


Hammond Bishop Noll has a 34-game losing streak.

South Newton has a 28-game losing skid.

Caston is in the midst of a 25-game losing streak.

Connersville and Dugger-Union have a 20-game losing streak.

Hammond, Benton Central, Elwood, Frankfort, and Owen Valley have lost 18 straight games.

Evansville Harrison, Pike Central, and Washington have lost 12 games in a row.

Shelbyville and Muncie Central have dropped 11 straight contests.

Perry Meridian has a 10-game losing streak.

South Spencer, Fountain Central, and Whitko have suffered nine consecutive losses.

Eastern (Pekin) and South Bend Adams have lost eight in a row.


New Palestine 60, Southwood 20, Heritage Hills 17, Evansville Memorial 17


South Newton 25, Edinburgh 24, Caston 23, Bellmont 19, Connersville 18, Hammond 16, Owen Valley 16, Benton Central 14, Elwood 15, Frankfort 15, Evansville Harrison 11, Pike Central 11, Washington 11, Shelbyville 10, Muncie Central 10, Perry Meridian 9, Monrovia 9, Whitko 8, Fountain Central 8, Eastern Greene 8, Eastern (Pekin) 7, Gary Roosevelt 7, South Bend Adams 7.


Columbus East has run off 87 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

New Palestine has won 44 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

East Central has won 38 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Pioneer has come out on top in 34 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Lafayette Jeff has won 22 straight North Central Conference games.

Sheridan has a 22-game Hoosier Heartland Conference winning streak.

Brownstown Central has a 17-game Mid-Southern Conference winning streak.

East Noble has claimed 15 straight Northeast 8 Conference games.

Valparaiso has a 14-game Duneland Athletic Conference winning streak.

Evansville Memorial has claimed 13 straight Southern Indiana Conference contests.

Heritage Hills has won 13 straight Pocket Conference games.

Hammond Morton has captured 12 straight Great Lakes Conference games.

North Vermillion has earned 12 consecutive Wabash River Conference games.

Marion has won 11 consecutive North Central Conference games.

Western Boone has 10 straight Sagamore Conference wins.


Benton Central has lost 33 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

South Bend Clay has suffered 25 straight Northern Indiana Conference losses.

Caston has lost 22 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Crawford County has lost 22 straight Patoka Lake Conference contests.

Kankakee Valley has a 21-game Northwest Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Goshen has lost 17 consecutive Northern Lakes Conference games.

Edinburgh has dropped 15 Mid-Indiana Conference games in a row.

Bellmont has lost 15 straight Northeast 8 Conference games.

Washington has suffered 12 consecutive Big Eight Conference losses.

Elwood has an 11-game Central Indiana Conference losing streak.

Frankfort has lost 11 consecutive Sagamore Conference games.


Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 423, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 362, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 324, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 319, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 301, John Hart (Brownsburg) 298, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 272, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 265, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 260, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 239, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 238, Mark Bless (Avon) 230, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 230, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 226, George Gilbert (Taylor) 223, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 221, Bart Curtis (Warsaw) 213, John Hendryx (Knox) 212, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 208, Brian Moore (Parke Heritage) 201.

CLOSING IN ON 200 WINS: Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina) 197, Sherwood Haydock (Woodlan) 195

CLOSING IN ON 100 WINS: Ron Qualls (Anderson) 99, Mike Campbell (Jimtown) 99, Jason Hawkins (Charlestown) 95, John Hurley (Evansville Memorial) 93.

2023 Season Tickets On Sale Now!

2023 Season Tickets On Sale Now!

Our opponents are set! Secure the best seats & best benefits for next season, and be there live for exciting matchups against the Pittsburgh Steelers, Tampa Bay Buccaneers and more of the NFL's best opponents. Request more info or view our 3D Seat Viewer below!