Indiana Football Digest Insider - 2019 Week One 

The Indiana Football Digest Insider is weekly recap of news, facts, trends, and streaks around Indiana high school football.



Lewis Cass ended two-time Class 1A state champion Pioneer's 30-game winning streak with a 28-22 triumph. It also stopped the Panthers' 43-game regular season streak dating back to 2014.

Lafayette Jeff stopped defending Class 3A champion West Lafayette's 15-game winning streak with a 74-66 victory.  The two teams combined for almost 1,800 yards of total offense. Lafayette Jeff tallied 977 yards, while West Lafayette recorded 817 yards.

Peru saw its 11-game losing streak come to an end with a 48-20 win over Logansport. It was also the first coaching win for second-year leader Romison Saint-Louis.

Darin Ward earned his 100th triumph in Boonville's 42-6 victory over Washington.

Makenzie Crowder became the first female to score a point for North Vermillion when she connected on an extra-point in the Falcons' 43-8 win over Owen Valley.

Center Grove standout junior running back Carson Steele missed the Trojans' 21-14 loss to defending Class 6A state champion Warren Central with a hamstring injury.

Tri-West assistant Jason Ward is running the day-to-day operations while head coach Tyler Bruce is on administrative leave.


These coaches earned their first victory with their new team.

Tony Bowman – Covenant Christian (21-8 over Indianapolis Howe), Jake Meiners – East Central (30-12 over Lawrenceburg), Romison Saint Louis – Peru (48-21 over Logansport), Troy Burgess – Frontier (44 over Anderson Prep Academy, Brian Glesing – Paoli (34-26 over Madison), Brett lambert (26-24 over Culver Community), Tony Sonsini – Richmond (41-21 over Connersville), Sean Kelly – Rochester (20-14 over Wabash), Todd Stammich – South Bend Washington (21-0 over Hammond), David Papenhaus – Silver Creek (13-7 over Charlestown), Chuck Sorrell – South Putnam (33-14 over Cloverdale), George Gilbert – Taylor (63-50 over North White), Keith Maloy – Union City (23-21 over Tri), Rodney Younis – Triton (26-24 over South Central), Jon Reutebuch – Wawasee (28-14 over Lakeland), Wes Oler – Northeastern (27-14 over Union County), Scott Turnquist – Zionsville (17-7 over Indianapolis Pike), Brett Jennings – Whiting ( 27-20 over Hammond Clark).


Western Boone has a 16-game winning streak.

New Palestine and Warren Central have earned 15 consecutive victories.

Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger has an eight-game winning streak.


Clarksville has a 46-game losing streak.

South Bend Clay has suffered 32 losses in a row.

South Newton has a 23-game losing skid.

Caston is in the midst of a 20-game losing streak.

Fairfield has lost 19 consecutive contests.

Dugger Union has lost 17 in a row.

Cambridge City Lincoln and Connersville have a 16-game losing streak.

Hammond, Greenfield Central, and Fort Wayne South have lost 14 games in a row.

Benton Central, Elwood, Frankfort, and Owen Valley have a 12-game losing streak.

Park Tudor and Lake Station have lost 11 straight games.

Indianapolis Pike and Southern Wells have dropped 10 consecutive games.


New Palestine 55, Adams Central 16, Whiting 15, Brownsburg 15, Southwood 15, Warren Central 14, Paoli 13, Heritage Hills 12, Evansville Memorial 12, Delphi 12, NorthWood 11, Boonville 10, Covenant Christian 10, Marion 10, Western Boone 10.


Clarksville 41, South Bend Clay 28, South Newton 20, Edinburgh 19, Caston 18, Fairfield 17, Bellmont 14, Cambridge City Lincoln 13, Connersville 13, Fort Wayne South 12, Greenfield-Central 12, Hammond 12, Owen Valley 11, Benton Central 10, Elwood 10, Frankfort 10, Park Tudor 10, Goshen 9, Indianapolis Pike 9, Lake Station 9, Southern Wells 9, Prairie Heights 8.


Columbus East has run off 84 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

New Palestine has won 40 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

East Central has won 37 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Pioneer has come out on top in 30 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Lafayette Jeff has won 18 straight North Central Conference games.

Sheridan has a 17-game Hoosier Heartland Conference winning streak.

Indianapolis Scecina has won 15 straight Indiana Crossroads Conference contests.

Griffith has claimed 14 Greater South Shore Conference games in a row.

Brownstown Central has a 13-game Mid-Southern Conference winning streak.

Adams Central has a 12-game Allen County Conference winning streak.

Brownsburg has captured 12 straight Hoosier Crossroads Conference games.

East Noble has claimed 11 straight Northeast 8 Conference games.

Mississinewa has won 11 consecutive Central Indiana Conference games.

Valparaiso has a 10-game Duneland Athletic Conference winning streak.

Hammond Morton has captured 10 straight Great Lakes Conference games.


Clarksville has suffered 34 straight Mid-Southern Conference losses.

Benton Central has lost 31 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

South Bend Clay has suffered 22 straight Northern Indiana Conference losses.

Cambridge City Lincoln has lost 20 consecutive Tri-Eastern Conference games.

Kankakee Valley has a 19-game Northwest Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Crawford County has lost 18 straight Patoka Lake Conference contests.

Caston has lost 18 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Southern Wells has dropped 18 Allen County Conference games in a row.

Richmond has a 16-game North Central Conference losing streak.

Goshen has lost 13 consecutive Northern Lakes Conference games.

Park Tudor has a 13-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Fort Wayne South has lost 12 straight Summit Conference contests.

Bellmont has lost 11 straight Northeast 8 Conference games.

Edinburgh has dropped 11 Mid-Indiana Conference games in a row.

Jennings County has a 10-game Hoosier Hills Conference losing streak.

Washington has suffered 10 consecutive Big Eight Conference losses.


Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 418, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 358, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 320, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 316, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 298, John Hart (Brownsburg) 295, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 268, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 260, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 257, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 237, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 236, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 226, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 225, Mark Bless (Avon) 225, George Gilbert (Taylor) 223, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 218, Bart Curtis (Warsaw) 209, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 208, John Hendryx (Knox) 207.

CLOSING IN ON 200 WINS: Brian Moore (Parke Heritage) 196, Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina) 194, Sherwood Haydock (Woodlan) 192

CLOSING IN ON 100 WINS: Doug Hurt (Castle) 98, Ron Qualls (Anderson) 98, Mike Campbell (Jimtown) 97, Jason Hawkins (Charlestown) 91.

EXTENDED! Colts “Blue Friday” No Fee Offer

EXTENDED! Colts "Blue Friday" No Fee Offer

Colts Fans! Take advantage of our Blue Friday offer and enjoy no fees on single-game tickets to our Fan Appreciation game against the Houston Texans! Offer is available through Cyber Monday at 11:59pm. Get your tickets while you can!