Skip to main content

Indiana Football Digest's Insider - 2018 Week Seven


The pairings for the 46th annual IHSAA state football tournament will be released on Sunday, October 7 starting at 6 p.m. EDT and can be streamed live on

Boonville is unbeaten after the first seven weeks since 1955 with a 33-6 win over Princeton.
With its 41-34 triumph over North Newton, Delphi has improved to 7-0 for the first time since 1977, while Eastern (Greeentown) is perfect after seven games for the first time since 1974 with its 55-7 decision over Tri-Central.

Whitko ended its 17-game losing streak with 46-28 win over Manchester.

Speedway snapped a 19-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak with 37-6 decision over Park Tudor.

Michael Lindauer became Evansville Memorial's all-time leading passer by going 20-of-39 for 290 yards and five touchdowns in the Tigers' 47-27 win over previously unbeaten Evansville Central.


Here is the last time these teams were 7-0: Adams Central (2016), Boonville (1955), Whiting (2014), Tipton (2017), West Lafayette (2015), Eastern (Greentown) (1974), Brownsburg (2016), New Palestine (2017), Pioneer (2017), Warren Central (2014), Marion (1997), Angola (2017), Bremen (2011), NorthWood (2016), Paoli (2009), Heritage Hills (2007), Western Boone (2011), Evansville Memorial (1989), Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger (2010), Southwood (1996), Northview (2015), Churubusco (2011), Delphi (1977), Covenant Christian (2016). Traders Point Christian (first time).

Here is the time these teams were 0-7: Elwood (2017), Connersville (2010), Lake Station (2015), Northwestern (2002), Fremont (2017), Benton Central (2010), Greenfield-Central (2005), Caston (2006), Park Tudor (2008), Edinburgh (2008), Clarksville (2017), South Newton (2017), Bellmont (1992), John Glenn (1979), Wawasee (1991), Crawfordsville (2017), Frankfort (2017), Fort Wayne South (1955), Peru (2011), Cambridge City Lincoln (2013), Owen Valley (1987), Hammond (0-6-2006). Fairfield (0-6-2002), South Bend Clay (0-6-2017), Dugger Union (0-5-2017).


The following coaches earned their first win at their new school: Ron Qualls (Anderson), Raymond Jones (Clinton Prairie).


Pioneer has a 22-game winning streak.

Evansville Memorial has won 15 games in a row.


Clarksville has a 42-game losing streak.

South Bend Clay has suffered 28 losses in a row.

Crawfordsville has 22 consecutive losses

Edinburgh and South Newton have suffered 19 consecutive losses.

Fremont has dropped 18 straight games.

Caston is in the midst of a 16-game losing streak.

Dugger Union and Fairfield have lost 15 in a row.

Bellmont has dropped 12 consecutive contests.

Cambridge City Lincoln and Connersville have an 11-game losing streak.

Hammond, Fort Wayne South, John Glenn, and Greenfield-Central have dropped 10 games in a row.


New Palestine 52, Pioneer 41, Angola 17. Adams Central 13, Northview 13, Whiting 12, West Lafayette 12, Brownsburg 12, Southwood 12, Warren Central 11, Paoli 10, Heritage Hills 9, Evansville Memorial 9, Churubusco 9, Delphi 9, NorthWood 8, Eastern (Greentown) 8, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger 8, Traders Point Christian 8.


Clarksville 38, South Bend Clay 25, Crawfordsville 20, Edinburgh 17, South Newton 17, Fremont 15, Caston 15, Fairfield 14, Bellmont 11, Cambridge City Lincoln 10, Connersville 10, Hammond 9, Fort Wayne South 9, John Glenn 9, Greenfield-Central 9, Park Tudor 9, Owen Valley 8.


Here is a list of teams who have already clinched their conference championships.

Big Eight: Boonville; Circle City: Indianapolis Bishop Chatard; Eastern Indiana (3A): Batesville; Eastern Indiana (4A): East Central; Greater Indianapolis: Indianapolis Howe; Metropolitan: Warren Central; Patoka Lake: Paoli.


Columbus East has run off 81 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

Penn has won 46 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 38 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

East Central has won 37 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Pioneer has come out on top in 28 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Lafayette Jeff has won 16 straight North Central Conference games.

Indianapolis Scecina has won 13 straight Indiana Crossroads Conference contests.

Griffith has claimed 12 Greater South Shore Conference games in a row.

Lowell has a 11-game Northwest Crossroads Conference winning streak.


Clarksville has suffered 31 straight Mid-Southern Conference losses.

Benton Central has lost 30 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

South Bend Clay has suffered 19 straight Northern Indiana Conference losses.

Lawrence North has dropped 19 consecutive Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference games.

Crawford County has lost 18 straight Patoka Lake Conference contests.

Kankakee Valley has a 17-game Northwest Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Caston has lost 16 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Southern Wells has dropped 16 Allen County Conference games in a row.

Crawfordsville has lost 16 consecutive Sagamore Conference games.

Richmond has a 14-game North Central Conference losing streak.

Park Tudor has a 13-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Edinburgh has dropped 11 Mid-Indiana Conference games in a row.


WINNINGEST ACTIVE COACHES: Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 416, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 354, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 314 Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 309, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 294, John Hart (Brownsburg) 291, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 261, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 254, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 254, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 236, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 231, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 224, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 222, Mark Bless (Avon) 221, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 215, Bart Curtis (Warsaw) 207, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 205, John Hendryx (Knox) 204

CLOSING IN ON 200: Brian Moore (Parke Heritage) 192, Sherwood Haydock (Woodlan) 192, Jeff Cain (Whiting) 189, Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina) 188

CLOSING IN ON 150: Dave Pasch (Indianapolis Lutheran) 145

CLOSING IN ON 100: Kevin Hutchins (Monrovia) 96, Ron Qualls (Anderson) 96, Mike Campbell (Jimtown) 95, Doug Hurt (Castle) 95, Darin Ward (Boonville) 95

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.