Skip to main content

Peyton Manning To Receive 10th Annual Lamar Hunt Award For Professional Football

Former Indianapolis Colts great quarterback Peyton Manning next month will be the recipient of the 10th annual Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football at the 48th annual NFL 101 Awards.


INDIANAPOLIS —Peyton Manning's impact on and off the field was cemented in October, when the Indianapolis Colts unveiled his statue outside of Lucas Oil Stadium.

And even still, as we approach two years since he retired as the NFL's greatest quarterback of all-time, the accolades continue to pour in.

We learned the latest such recognition this week, when the NFL 101 Awards program announced it has named Manning as its 10th recipient of the annual Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football, which is recognizing No. 18 for "his positive impact to the game, both on and off the field, during his illustrious playing career," according to a release.

"In addition to being one of the greatest to ever play the game, Peyton Manning reshaped the way the quarterback position is played and transcended the sport to become one of the most popular athletes of his generation," Clark Hunt, Chairman and CEO of the Kansas City Chiefs — and son of the award's namesake — continued in the release. "Throughout his career and into retirement, (Manning) has handled the many demands of a superstar with class, respect and dignity. Our family is thrilled to add Peyton's name to the outstanding list of previous recipients over this first decade of the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football."

Manning is actually the third representative from the Colts to receive the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football in its 10 years, joining Hall of Fame head coaches Tony Dungy (2009) and Don Shula (2013). Other recipients have included "The Foolish Club" (the eight original AFL team owners), Monday Night Football, NFL Films, Roger Staubach, Len Dawson, Paul Tagliabue, Super Bowl I and Al Michaels.

The 48th annual NFL 101 Awards are being held Feb. 24 in Kansas City, where the program will not only honor Manning, but will recognize its AFC and NFC Offensive Players of the Year, Defensive Players of the Year, as well as the AFC and NFC Coaches of the Year.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.