Skip to main content

Former Colts Linebacker Josh McNary Joins Jaguars

Intro: A week into free agency, three former Colts have found new homes. On Thursday morning, Josh McNary (Jaguars) joined Zach Kerr (Broncos) and Mike Adams (Panthers) in securing a next NFL stop.


INDIANAPOLIS – The AFC South musical chairs just got another player in Josh McNary.

The former Colts linebacker (2013-16) signed with the Jaguars on Thursday morning.

McNary played the last four seasons with the Colts, starting eight games (played in 49 career contests).

Coming into the 2017 offseason, the Colts had three restricted free agents: Jon Harrison, Zach Kerr and Josh McNary.

The Colts did not tender any of them, thus freeing them into the open market. In a week of free agency, Kerr (Broncos) and McNary (Jaguars) have already found new homes.

McNary signed with the Colts in the spring of 2013. His commitment to the Army kept him from joining the team until Training Camp later that summer.

In his tenure with the Colts, McNary was mainly a special teams contributor. Despite the turnover at inside linebacker last season, McNary played just 12 defensive snaps in the second half of the 2016 campaign.

Right now, the Colts have four inside linebackers on their roster: Edwin Jackson (8 career starts), Antonio Morrison (4 career starts), Deon King (0 career starts) and Luke Rhodes (0 career starts).

Inside linebacker remains a position of need for the Colts this offseason.

The analysis from those producing content on does not necessarily represent the thoughts of the Indianapolis Colts organization. Any conjecture, analysis or opinions formed by content creators is not based on inside knowledge gained from team officials, players or staff.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.