Colts Make 22 Moves to Reach 53-Man Roster

The Colts made 22 roster moves Saturday to meet the NFL-mandated roster size of 53 players. Among those discharged by the team were veterans Drake Nevis, Dominique Jones, Martin Tevaseu and Ben Ijalana.


INDIANAPOLIS – The two cutdown days the Colts went through during the past week represented two of the most difficult days for Ryan Grigson and Chuck Pagano.

After dropping from 90 to 75 players a few days ago, the Colts made 22 moves Saturday to reach the regular-season roster size of 53 players. 

The Colts waived LB-Daniel Adongo, S-Larry Asante, C-Thomas Austin, CB-Marshay Green, DE-Lawrence Guy, QB-Chandler Harnish, FB-Robert Hughes, T-Ben Ijalana, TE-Dominique Jones, WR-Jeremy Kelley, LB-Josh McNary, DT-Drake Nevis, CB-Sheldon Price, WR-Jabin Sambrano, WR-Lanear Sampson, LB-Monte Simmons, T-Bradley Sowell, NT-Martin Tevaseu and T-Lee Ziemba.

The team also waived-injured T-Emmett Cleary, LB-Shawn Loiseau and CB-Daxton Swanson.  If Cleary, Loiseau and Swanson clear waivers, they will revert to the Colts Injured Reserve list.

Ijalana (second) and Nevis (third) were 2011 draft choices.  Ijalana was trying to make the squad after serious knee injuries ended his first two seasons.  Nevis started three-of-14 career games.

Guy started two-of-nine appearances in 2012.  Harnish was on the active roster for the first five games last year, then finished on the practice squad.  Hughes appeared in five games at fullback last year, while Sowell was a reserve in 10 outings.  Tevaseu opened two-of-13 games.

Indianapolis may start forming its eight-man practice squad on Sunday.

COLTS ROSTER BREAKDOWN (*-rookie; #-suspended)

Quarterback (2) – Matt Hasselbeck, Andrew Luck

* *

Running Back (5) – Vick Ballard, Ahmad Bradshaw, Donald Brown, Stanley Havili, Kerwynn Williams*

* *

Wide Receiver (5)– LaVon Brazill#, Darrius Heyward-Bey, T.Y. Hilton, David Reed, Reggie Wayne, Griff Whalen

* *

Tight End (3) – Dwayne Allen, Justice Cunningham*, Coby Fleener

* *

Offensive Line (9) – Anthony Castonzo (T), Gosder Cherilus (T), Khaled Holmes* (C/G), Jeff Linkenbach (T), Mike McGlynn (C/G), Joe Reitz (G), Samson Satele (C), Donald Thomas (G), Hugh Thornton* (G)

* *

Defensive Line (7) – Josh Chapman (NT), Ricky Jean Francois (T), Aubrayo Franklin (T), Montori Hughes* (T), Ricardo Mathews (T), Fili Moala (E), Cory Redding (E)

* *

Linebacker (9) – Pat Angerer (I), Kavell Conner (I), Jerrell Freeman (I), Mario Harvey (I), Robert Mathis (O), Caesar Rayford, Kelvin Sheppard, Erik Walden (O), Bjoern Werner (O)

* *

Cornerback (5) – Darius Butler, Vontae Davis, Josh Gordy, Greg Toler, Cassius Vaughn

* *

Safety (5) – Antoine Bethea, Sergio Brown, Delano Howell, LaRon Landry, Joe Lefeged

* *

Punter (1) – Pat McAfee

* *

Placekicker (1) – Adam Vinatieri

* *

Long Snapper (1) – Matt Overton

Rookies – 7; Players finishing 2012 season on active roster – 29; Players finishing 2012 season on injured reserve/practice squad – 4; Players on current active roster not ending 2012 with Colts – 20.

Key Additions – RB-Ahmad Bradshaw, OT-Gosder Cherilus, QB-Matt Hasselbeck, WR-Darrius Heyward-Bey, OG-Donald Thomas, DT-Aubrayo Franklin, DT-Ricky Jean Francois, S-LaRon Landry, CB-Greg Toler and LB-Erik Walden.

New Coordinators – Pep Hamilton (offense), Tom McMahon (special teams).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2021 Season Tickets Available Now!

Our 2021 home opponents are locked in. Secure your seats for the next season and defend home turf against the Seattle Seahawks, LA Rams, New England Patriots and more.