Skip to main content

Colts Begin Roster Cuts, Waive 10 Players, Sign Stevan Ridley

Intro: The Colts have begun to make their way towards the first roster cuts of 2016. On Sunday morning, the Colts waived 10 players. They also signed a veteran running back, bringing their roster down to 81 guys.


INDIANAPOLIS – The Colts have begun the process of dwindling their roster.

On Sunday morning, the Colts waived 10 players, dropping the roster number from 90 players to 80.

The guys let go were wide receiver Justin Berger, safety Alden Darby, guard Eric Herman, defensive tackle Ricky Lumpkin, tight end Mike Miller, running back Chase Price, cornerback Winston Rose, defensive end Delvon Simmons, wide receiver Josh Stangby and inside linebacker Junior Sylvestre.

The Colts did make one addition later on Sunday, by signing veteran running back Stevan Ridley, who has played in 60 career NFL games (26 starts) piling up 685 carries for 2,907 yards (4.2 avg.) and 22 touchdowns in his time with the Jets (2015) and the Patriots (2011-14).

With the roster now at 81 players, the Colts will have until Tuesday at 4:00 p.m. to get down to the mandated number of 75 players.

Those 75 guys will be on the roster Thursday in Cincinnati for the team's preseason finale. The roster will then be cut down to 53 players by Saturday at 4:00 p.m.

Here is the current look at the Colts' 81-man roster. The first number listed below is for how many players are currently on the roster at each position. Then the second number is how many players were kept at that spot following last year's final cuts.

Quarterback (3/2): Andrew Luck, Stephen Morris, Scott Tolzien

Running Back (6/5): Josh Ferguson, Frank Gore, Stevan Ridley, Jordan Todman, Robert Turbin, Trey Williams

Wide Receiver (8/5): Danny Anthrop, Quan Bray, Phillip Dorsett, T.Y. Hilton, MeKale McKay, Donte Moncrief, Chester Rogers, Tevaun Smith

Tight End (5/3): Dwayne Allen, Chase Coffman, Jack Doyle, Konrad Reuland, Erik Swoope

Offensive Line (15/9): C-Austin Blythe, T-Anthony Castonzo, T-Le'Raven Clark, T/G-Denzelle Good, T/G-Joe Haeg, C/G-Jonotthan Harrison, C-Ryan Kelly, T-Keith Lumpkin, G-Jack Mewhort, G-Kitt O'Brien, G-Adam Redmond, G/T-Joe Reitz, G-Hugh Thornton, T-Mitchell Van Dyk, T-Jeremy Vujnovich

Defensive Line (9/5): DT-Henry Anderson, DE-Sterling Bailey, DT-Arthur Jones, DE-Kendall Langford, NT-Zach Kerr, DT-T.Y. McGill, NT-David Parry, DT-Kelcy Quarles, DT-Hassan Ridgeway

Linebacker (14/10): OLB-Trevor Bates, OLB-Trent Cole, ILB-Nate Irving, ILB-D'Qwell Jackson, ILB-Edwin Jackson, OLB-Curt Maggitt, OLB-Robert Mathis, ILB-Josh McNary ILB-Sio Moore, ILB-Antonio Morrison, OLB-Earl Okine, ILB-Anthony Sarao, OLB-Ron Thompson, OLB-Erik Walden

Cornerback (11/6): Jalil Brown, Darius Butler, Antonio Cromartie, Vontae Davis, Tay Glover-Wright, Christopher Milton, Tevin Mitchel, Patrick Robinson, D'Joun Smith, Darius White, Frankie Williams

Safety (7/5): Mike Adams, Clayton Geathers, T.J. Green, Winston Guy, Lee Hightower, Stefan McClure, Dezmen Southward

Specialists (3/3): P-Pat McAfee, LS-Matt Overton, K-Adam Vinatieri

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.