Skip to main content

Motorola Coach of the Year

For the second year, the Indianapolis Colts and Motorola teamed up to recognize outstanding Indiana high school football coaches.


Colts and Motorola Honor Indiana High School Football CoachesINDIANAPOLIS – As a part of their continued efforts to support the game of football at all levels, the Colts teamed up with Motorola this season for the 2nd Annual Motorola Coach of the Year program. Through this initiative, Indiana high school football fans had the opportunity to vote for their favorite coach throughout the season at

The overall winning coach received a $1,000 donation for his high school's football program and was recognized at the Colts vs. Titans game on December 28, 2008. In addition, the coach who received the highest number of votes in each class will receive a $1,000 contribution for his football program and a special plaque recognizing his achievement.

Created by the Colts in 2007, is an online platform that allows every Indiana high school football team to have its own team website with news, photo galleries, information, scores, schedule, roster and more. This is the second year the site has facilitated the voting process for the Motorola Coach of the Year program. 

The Colts and Motorola congratulate this year's Motorola Coach of the Year winners and thank them for all they do to build the game of football in Indiana.

Below is a list of the 2008 Motorola Coach of the Year winners:

Coach School Class Number of Votes
Herb King (overall winner) Rockville High School 1A 9,518
Brian Balsmeyer Paoli High School 2A 1,505
Toney Bergman Bellmont High School 3A 3,716
Bob Gaddis Columbus East High School 4A 7,144
Derek Moyers Pike High School 5A 635

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.