The Indiana Football Digest's Insider - 2016 Volume 7

Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea



Wood Memorial has chosen to cancel its contest with Crawford County on October 14 because of the continuing investigation into a bullying incident involving some of the players. The Trojans will also not participate in the upcoming state tournament.

After taking a short leave of absence to deal with a personal matter, Brett St. Germain will return to the Lake Central sidelines for Friday's contest at Merrillville.

Jim Rowland of New Haven notched his 100th career win with the Bulldogs' 55-10 trouncing of Bellmont.

Park Tudor ended a 26-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak with a 38-36 win over Speedway.

Fort Wayne South snapped a 24-game Summit Athletic Conference losing skid with a 14-12 win over Fort Wayne North. The Archers also halted an 11-game regular season losing streak as well.

Jimtown recorded the program's 500th victory with last Friday's 31-20 decision over South Bend Riley.

LaPorte improved to 7-0 for the first time since 1946 with a 34-16 win over Crown Point.

Bryce Tomasi's eight-yard touchdown pass to Trevor Teumac with 38 seconds left lifted No. 3 (Class 3A) Mishawaka Marian to a 21-17 win at No. 9 (Class 4A) New Prairie. The Knights clinched at least a share of the Northern Indiana South Division championship.

Avery Denhart's 15-yard strike to Ben Tharp with 27 seconds left helped top-ranked and defending Class 1A state champion Lafayette Central Catholic to a 28-25 win over No. 5 (Class 3A) West Lafayette.

Caleb Quick's 54-yard field goal with 11 seconds remaining lifted Guerin Catholic to a 13-10 win over Brebeuf Jesuit.

Jon Vore completed 17-of-28 for 166 yards and two touchdowns in Fishers' 27-17 upset of No. 3 (Class 6A) Indianapolis Cathedral.

Jake McDonald was 15-of-23 for 214 yards and threw four touchdowns in the second half as Carmel rallied from a 24-7 deficit for a 40-36 win over Ben Davis.

Clemson-bound quarterback Hunter Johnson finished 23-of-33 for 302 yards and five touchdowns in Brownsburg's 38-25 win over Zionsville.

DuRon Ford ran for 210 yards and four touchdowns and Gunnar Large added two scores through the air and on the ground as New Palestine cruised to a 70-20 win over Shelbyville in a battle of unbeaten teams.


The following coaches earned their first victory at their new place of employment.

Elwood – Joe Kwisz (38-12 over Alexandria).

The following teams have clinched at least a share of their respective conference titles.

Eastern Indiana (3A): Lawrenceburg. Eastern Indiana (4A): East Central. Great Lakes: East Chicago Central. Indiana Crossroads: Indianapolis Scecina. Metropolitan: Warren Central. Mid-Indiana Football: Milan. Mid-State: Decatur Central. Northeast Corner (Small): Eastside. Northern Indiana (South): Mishawaka Marian. Patoka Lake: West Washington.


Lafayette Central Catholic has 22 consecutive wins.

Fort Wayne Snider has won 13 straight contests.


Wood Memorial has a 29-game losing streak, which includes eight straight forfeits.

North Central (Indianapolis) has dropped 28 straight games.

Clarksville has a 22-game losing streak.

Hammond Bishop Noll has lost 21 straight games.

Indianapolis Marshall has dropped 20 straights contests.

Hammond Clark and Prairie Heights have suffered 19 losses in a row.

Blackford and Martinsville have lost 18 consecutive games.

Terre Haute South has dropped 16 games in a row.

Anderson has a 13-game losing streak.

Bowman Academy, Evansville Bosse, and Turkey Run have lost 11 straight games.

Rochester and Rock Creek Academy have dropped 10 consecutive contests.


New Palestine 34, Pioneer 24, Gibson Southern 19, Woodlan 17, Lafayette Central Catholic 16, West Washington 16, Penn 12, Indianapolis Roncalli 19, LaPorte 10, Linton-Stockton 10, Hanover Central 9.


Wood Memorial 26, North Central (Indianapolis) 25, South Bend Riley 24, Clarksville 20, Hammond Bishop Noll 19, Indianapolis Marshall 18, Hammond Clark 17, Prairie Heights 17, Blackford 16, Martinsville 16, Terre Haute South 13, Anderson 12, Evansville Bosse 10, Bowman Academy 10, Turkey Run 10, Mount Vernon (Posey) 9, Rochester 9, South Bend Clay 9, Taylor 9. #-includes eight forfeits.


Columbus East has run off 68 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference games.

Penn has won 34 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

East Central has won 31 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 24 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

Bloomington South has captured 16 straight Conference Indiana games.

Gibson Southern has won 14 consecutive Pocket Conference contests.

Pioneer has come out on top in 14 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Woodlan has taken 11 consecutive Allen County Conference contests.

West Washington has won 10 straight Patoka Lake Conference games.


Benton Central has lost 22 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

North Central (Indianapolis) has dropped 22 Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference games in a row.

South Bend Riley has lost 16 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

Clarksville has suffered 16 straight Mid-Southern Conference losses.

Blackford has dropped 12 consecutive Central Indiana Conference games.

Martinsville has lost 10 Mid-State Conference games in a row.


Here is the last time these teams started 7-0: Adams Central (2015), Brownsburg (2012), Carroll (Flora) (1996), Columbus North (first time), Covenant Christian (first time), Fort Wayne Snider (2015), Fountain Central (2013), Gibson Southern (2015), Hanover Central (first time), Indianapolis Roncalli (1999), Lafayette Central Catholic (2015), LaPorte (1946), Linton-Stockton (2013), Mishawaka Marian (1999), Mississinewa (2011), Monroe Central (first time), New Haven (6-0-2013), New Palestine (2015), North Miami (2007), NorthWood (1996). Penn (2014), Pioneer (2015), Southridge (1998), West Washington (2015), Woodlan (2015).

Here is the last time these teams started 0-7: Anderson (1996), Blackford (2015), Bloomington North (2004), Bowman Academy (2014), Clarksville (2015), Crawford County (2012), Evansville Bosse (1982), Gary Roosevelt (0-6-2013),* *Gary West (0-5-2014), Hammond Clark (2015), Hammond Noll (2015), Indianapolis Marshall (2015), Indianapolis Pike (1985), Jennings County (2008), Lewis Cass (1982), Manchester (1995), Martinsville (2015), Mount Vernon (Posey) (1995), North Central (Indianapolis) (2015), Norwell (2015), Oldenburg Academy (first time), Prairie Heights (2015). Rochester (1981), South Bend Clay (2015), South Bend Riley (2015), South Dearborn (2013), South Newton (2010), Taylor (2014), Terre Haute South (2006), Triton (1999), Turkey Run (2010), West Central (2015).


CLOSING IN ON 400:Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 399.

CLOSING IN ON 150:Cory Yeoman (Penn) 149, Darrin Fisher (Whiteland) 146.

CLOSING IN ON 100:Kevin Mills (Crawford County) 99,* *Brian Glesing (Floyd Central) 99, Steve Stirn (North Decatur) 98.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.
Season Ticket Deposits Available Now!

Season Ticket Deposits Available Now!

Join the priority list now for 2023 season tickets! Place a deposit today and you'll be the first in line to get the best seats, benefits & more!