Skip to main content

The Indiana Football Digest's Insider - 2016 Volume 6

By Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea



Fishers coach Rick Wimmer was reinstated to his teaching and coaching duties on Monday after being on administrative leave for an incident in the classroom. During this stretch, Wimmer missed the Tigers' contests with Brownsburg and Avon.

Noblesville coach Jason Simmons served a partial suspension this past Friday for the Millers' contest with Hamilton Heights. Simmons was ejected in the fourth quarter of last week's contest with Zionsville for an altercation on the field. He was allowed to meet with his team before this week's game, but could not be on the and coach. He was allowed to watch from the press box and then rejoined the team afterwards.

Evansville Mater Dei skipper Mike Goebel celebrated his 200th career win with the Wildcats' 44-42 decision over Castle.

Hanover Central ended Whiting's 11-game regular season winning streak with a 21-0 victory. The Wildcats are now 6-0 for the first time in school history.

Riverton Parke saw its 30-game regular season losing streak come to an end with 32-7 win over Turkey Run. The Panthers also snapped its 43-game Wabash River Conference losing skid.

Centerville halted Northeastern's 20-game Tri-Eastern Conference winning streak with a 25-24 victory.

Hamilton Southeastern quarterback Adam Mullett completed 30-of-44 passes for a school-record 463 yards and four touchdowns in the Royals' 48-41 win over Zionsville. Mullett also ran for a score for the Royals.

Nick Wilson had 24 rushes for 392 yards and six touchdowns in New Prairie's 70-14 win over South Bend Riley. Wilson also tossed for 108 yards for the Cougars, who accumulated 564 yards on the ground in the contest.

Jimtown running back Kenny Kerrn carried the ball 39 times for 320 yards and five touchdowns in the Jimmies' 37-36 victory over Concord. Kerrn also converted the game-winning two-point conversion.

Carson Gill's two-point conversion run in overtime lifted Brownsburg to a 29-28 victory over Westfield.

With his 127 yards through the air and one score in a 42-19 win over West Noble, Tanner Burns became Garrett's all-time leading passer with 4,049 total yards.


Lafayette Central Catholic has 21 consecutive wins.

Fort Wayne Snider has won 12 straight contests.


Wood Memorial has a 29-game losing streak, which includes eight straight forfeits.

North Central (Indianapolis) has dropped 27 straight games.

Clarksville has a 21-game losing streak.

Hammond Bishop Noll has lost 20 straight games.

Indianapolis Marshall has dropped 19 straights contests.

Hammond Clark and Prairie Heights have suffered 18 losses in a row.

Blackford and Martinsville have lost 17 consecutive games.

Terre Haute South has dropped 15 games in a row.

Anderson has a 12-game losing streak.

Bowman Academy, Evansville Bosse, and Turkey Run have lost 10 straight games.

Edgewood, Indianapolis Washington, North Daviess, Rochester, and Rock Creek Academy have dropped nine consecutive contests.


New Palestine 33, Pioneer 23, Gibson Southern 18, Woodlan 16, Lafayette Central Catholic 15, West Washington 15, Penn 11, Indianapolis Roncalli 9, LaPorte 9, Linton-Stockton 9, Hanover Central 8, Shelbyville 8.


Wood Memorial 26, North Central (Indianapolis) 24, South Bend Riley 23, Clarksville 19, Hammond Bishop Noll 18, Indianapolis Marshall 17, Hammond Clark 16, Prairie Heights 16, Blackford 15, Martinsville 15, Terre Haute South 12, Anderson 11, Fort Wayne South 11, Evansville Bosse 9, Bowman Academy 9, Turkey Run 9, Edgewood 8, Indianapolis Washington 8, Mount Vernon (Posey) 8, North Daviess 8, Rochester 8, South Bend Clay 8, Taylor 8. #-includes eight forfeits.


Columbus East has run off 67 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference games.

Penn has won 33 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

East Central has won 30 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 23 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

Bloomington South has captured 15 straight Conference Indiana games.

Gibson Southern has won 13 consecutive Pocket Conference contests.

Pioneer has come out on top in 13 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Woodlan has taken 11 consecutive Allen County Conference contests.

West Washington has won nine straight Patoka Lake Conference games.


Park Tudor has dropped 26 consecutive Indiana Crossroads Conference games.

Fort Wayne South has suffered 24 straight Summit Athletic Conference losses.

Benton Central has lost 21 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

North Central (Indianapolis) has dropped 21 Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference games in a row.

South Bend Riley has lost 15 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

Clarksville has suffered 15 straight Mid-Southern Conference losses.

Blackford has dropped 11 consecutive Central Indiana Conference games.

Martinsville has lost 10 Mid-State Conference games in a row.


Here is the last time these teams started 6-0: Adams Central (2015), Brownsburg (2012), Carroll (Flora) (2003), Columbus North (2003), Covenant Christian (first time), Fort Wayne Snider (2015), Fountain Central (2013), Gibson Southern (2015), Hanover Central (first time), Indianapolis Roncalli (1999), Lafayette Central Catholic (2015), LaPorte (2005), Linton-Stockton (2015), Mishawaka Marian (2015), Monroe Central (first time), New Haven (5-0-2013), New Palestine (2015), North Miami (2007), NorthWood (1996). Penn (2014), Pioneer (2015), Shelbyville (2015), Southridge (1998), West Washington (2015), Woodlan (2015).

Here is the last time these teams started 0-6: Anderson (1996), Blackford (2015), Bloomington North (2004), Bowman Academy (2014), Clarksville (2015), Crawford County (2014), Edgewood (2004), Evansville Bosse (1982), Elwood (1969), Fort Wayne South (1955), Gary Roosevelt (0-5-2013),* *Gary West (0-5-2014), Hammond Clark (2015), Hammond Noll (2015), Indianapolis Marshall (2015), Indianapolis Pike (1985). Indianapolis Washington (2006), Jennings County (2008), Lewis Cass (1982), Maconaquah (2011), Manchester (2011), Martinsville (2015), Mount Vernon (Posey) (1995), North Central (Indianapolis) (2015), North Daviess (2005), Norwell (2015), Oldenburg Academy (first time), Prairie Heights (2015). Rochester (1981), South Bend Clay (2015), South Bend Riley (2015), South Dearborn (2013), South Newton (2010), Taylor (2014), Terre Haute South (2006), Triton (2012), Turkey Run (2010), West Central (2015).


CLOSING IN ON 400:Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 398.

CLOSING IN ON 100:Kevin Mills (Crawford County) 99,* *Jim Rowland (New Haven) 99, Brian Glesing (Floyd Central) 98, Steve Stirn (North Decatur) 97.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.