Skip to main content

The Indiana Football Digest's Insider - 2016 Volume 3

By Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea



The passing of Rochester senior tight end-linebacker Tyler Mulvaney on September 7 marked the third player lost in a seven-day period. On September 2, a pair of DeKalb individuals, junior back Derek Padilla and junior lineman Lucas Oberkiser, lost their lives in a car crash. This forced the cancellation of the Barons' contests with New Haven on September 2 and East Noble on September 9.

Former Castle coach John Lidy passed away on September 9 at the age of 71. Lidy, who is a member of the Indiana Football Hall of Fame, guided the Knights to state titles in 1982 and 1994.

Angola's Andy Thomas notched career win No. 100 with the Hornets' 37-17 triumph over West Noble.

Tom Dilley of Guerin Catholic earned his 100th career victory with the Golden Eagles' 31-18 decision over Indianapolis Howe.

Marion had its 23-game North Central Conference losing streak come to an end with a 41-19 win over Anderson.

North Harrison had its 12-game regular season winning streak snapped with a 48-14 setback to Charlestown.

Centerville ended its 13-game regular season losing skid with a 25-14 win over Cambridge City Lincoln.

North White had its 13-game regular season winning streak snapped with a 20-0 loss to Clinton Central.

North Central (Farmersburg) had its contest with Rock Creek Academy cancelled because of the weather.

Wes-Del is off to its best start at 4-0 since 1989, while Winamac's last 0-4 mark came in 1975.

Indianapolis Roncalli preserved its 7-0 win over Plainfield by stopping the Quakers at the goal line on the final play of the game.

Tyler Fleming's four-yard scoring romp in overtime helped Hamilton Southeastern post a 36-33 win over rival Fishers.

Tyler Johnson ran 19 yards for the game-winning touchdown with 40 seconds remaining in Boonville's 29-22 win over Harrisburg (Illinois).


The following coaches earned their first victory at their new place of employment.

Cascade – Steve Spinks (21-6 over Brown County); Centreville – Kyle Padgett (25-14 over Cambridge City Lincoln); Central Noble – Greg Moe (24-0 over Prairie Heights); Fort Wayne North – Mike Cochran (13-9 over Fort Wayne Wayne); Indianapolis Broad Ripple – Ethan Schreiber (12-9 over Anderson Prep Academy); Perry Meridian – Matt Henninger (21-20 over Terre Haute South); Seeger – Herb King (27-0 over Riverton Parke); South Bend Saint Joseph (44-6 over South Bend Clay).


Lafayette Central Catholic has 19 consecutive wins.

Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger has an 18-game winning streak.

Fort Wayne Snider has won 10 straight contests.


Wood Memorial has a 29-game losing streak, which includes eight straight forfeits.

North Central (Indianapolis) has dropped 25 straight games.

Clarksville has a 19-game losing streak.

Hammond Bishop Noll has lost 18 straight games.

Indianapolis Marshall has dropped 17 straights contests.

Hammond Clark and Prairie Heights have suffered 16 losses in a row.

Blackford and Martinsville have lost 15 consecutive games.

Terre Haute South has dropped 13 games in a row.

Anderson has a 10-game losing streak.


New Palestine 31, Pioneer 21, Gibson Southern 16, Woodlan 14, Eastbrook 13, Lafayette Central Catholic 13, West Washington 13, Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger 12.


Riverton Parke 29,* *#Wood Memorial 26, North Central (Indianapolis) 22, South Bend Riley 21, Clarksville 17, Hammond Bishop Noll 16, Indianapolis Marshall 15, Hammond Clark 14, Prairie Heights 14, Blackford 13, Martinsville 13, Terre Haute South 11. #-includes eight forfeits.


Columbus East has run off 65 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference games.

Penn has won 31 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

East Central has won 29 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 22 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

Northeastern has captured 19 straight Tri-Eastern Conference games.


Riverton Parke has lost 41 consecutive Wabash River Conference games.

Washington has suffered 27 straight Big Eight Conference losses.

Park Tudor has dropped 25 consecutive Indiana Crossroads Conference games.

Benton Central has lost 19 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

North Central (Indianapolis) has dropped 19 Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference games in a row.


Here is the last time these teams started 4-0: Adams Central (2015), Attica (2014), Batesville (2015), Bremen (2011), Brownsburg (2012), Brownstown Central (2015), Carroll (Flora) (2008), Castle (2012), Columbus North (2010), Eastbrook (2015). Eastern Greene (2015), Evansville Harrison (1993), Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger (2014), Fort Wayne Snider (2015), Fountain Central (2014), Garrett (2011),  Gibson Southern (2015), Greencastle (2013), Greenwood (2012), Hanover Central (2015), Hamilton Heights (3-0-2011), Indiana Deaf (2015), Indianapolis Arlington (2007), Indianapolis Cathedral (2000), Indianapolis Roncalli (2004), Indianapolis Scecina (2013), Lafayette Central Catholic (2015), LaPorte (2005), LaVille (2015), Lawrenceburg (2012), Linton-Stockton (2015), Mishawaka Marian (2015), Mississinewa (2012), Monroe Central (2-15), Muncie Central (2005), New Haven (3-0-2015), New Palestine (2015), Northwestern (1996), NorthWood (2004). Penn (2014), Pioneer (2015), Shelbyville (2015), Southridge (1998), Vincennes Lincoln (3-0-2014), Wabash (2015), Wes-Del (1989). West Washington (2015), Westfield (2015), Whiting (2014), Whitko (1990), Woodlan (2015).

Here is the last time these teams started 0-4: Anderson (2008), Alexandria (2009). Blackford (2015), Bloomington North (2004), Bowman Academy (2014), Cambridge City Lincoln (2013), Clarksville (2015), Crawford County (2015), Edgewood (2012), Elkhart Central (2009), Evansville Bosse (2007), Elwood (2014), Fort Wayne South (2014), Gary Roosevelt (2013). Gary West (0-3-2014), Hammond (2006), Hammond Clark (2015), Hammond Noll (2015), Huntington North (1981), Indianapolis Marshall (2015), Indianapolis Pike (1985). Indianapolis Washington (2015), Jennings County (2013), Lewis Cass (2011), Maconaquah (2011), Manchester (2015), Martinsville (2015), Mooresville (2013). Mount Vernon (Posey) (2014), North Central (Indianapolis) (2015), North Daviess (2005), Norwell (2015), Oldenburg Academy (first time), Prairie Heights (2015). River Forest (2014), Riverton Parke (2015), Rochester (1981), Rushville (2015), South Bend Clay (2015), South Bend Riley (2015), South Dearborn (2013), South Newton (2010), Speedway (2015), Springs Valley (2008), Taylor (2014), Terre Haute South (2006), Tippecanoe Valley (2014), Triton (2012), Turkey Run (2013), West Central (2015), Winamac (1975).


CLOSING IN ON 400:Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 396.

CLOSING IN ON 200:Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 198.

CLOSING IN ON 100:Kevin Mills (Crawford County) 99,* *Mike Roeder (Northeastern) 99, Bob Prescott (Peru) 99, Brian Glesing (Floyd Central) 97. Steve Stirn (North Decatur) 97, Jim Rowland (New Haven) 97.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.