Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts

The Indiana Football Digest's Insider - 2016 Volume 1

by Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea



Avon coach Mark Bless earned his 200th career victory with the Orioles' 35-31 decision over Plainfield.

Marion ended its 11-game losing streak with a 39-14 victory over Huntington North. It was also the first triumph for Craig Chambers with the Giants, who also snapped a 24-game regular season losing skid.

Warren Central snapped defending Class 6A state champion Center Grove's 14-game winning streak with a 21-16 victory. In the contest, Center Grove running back Titus McCoy suffered a high ankle sprain in the game's second series and didn't return. He is expected to miss four weeks,

Wood Memorial had to forfeit its contest with Princeton when several of its players were suspended for a violation of school and team policy.

Greenfield Central ended Eastern Hancock's 15-game regular season winning streak with a 42-28 victory. It was also Adam Sherman's first triumph as the Cougars' new boss.

Brownsburg snapped Bloomington South's 13-game regular season winning streak with a 28-26 triumph. John Hart also picked up his first win with the Bulldogs.

West Lafayette quarterback Mikey Kidwell established two new school records by completing 31-of-54 passes for 499 yards and seven touchdowns in the Red Devils' 55-27 win over Tri-West.

South Bend Adams signal caller Andrew Burgess was 14-of-30 for 433 yards and three touchdowns and also ran for a score in a 46-29 win over Northridge.

Portage coach Darren Rodriguez will have to sit out this week's contest against Lowell as a result of being ejected from last season's season finale when he was at Culver Community. He was originally supposed to serve the suspension against Mishawaka, but received a waiver from the IHSAA since the Indians were dedicating their new field.

Plymouth's 30-3 win over Bremen marked the last time these two Marshall County rivals will play each other for the foreseeable future. They had opened the season against each for the last 20 years with Plymouth posting an 18-2 mark.

Homestead quarterback Drew Keszei is expected to miss the remainder of the season after suffering an ankle injury in the Spartans' 41-28 win over Fort Wayne Northrop. The Ohio University bound signal caller threw for 101 yards and ran for a touchdown before leaving the contest.


The following coaches earned their first victory at their new place of employment.

Evan Ulery – Batesville (21-6 over Jennings County); Randy Minniear – Brown County (21-20 over Edinburgh); John Hart – Brownsburg (28-26 over Bloomington South); Michael Clevenger – Clinton Prairie (47-14 over Frontier), Mike Zehner – Culver (36-20 over North Judson); K.C. Woods – Danville (15-0 over Northview); Chris Overholt – Delta (33-6 over Jay County); Joel Sienicki – Frankfort (22-6 over Western); Adam Sherman – Greenfield Central (42-28 over Eastern Hancock); Kyle Ray – Heritage Christian (43-36 over Indianapolis Northwest); Earnest Tucker – Indianapolis Howe (24-0 over Osceola Grace); Robert Orkman – Indianapolis Manual (21-8 over Gary Roosevelt); Damien Givens – Indianapolis Shortridge (37-8 over Indianapolis Attucks); Christopher Edison – Indianapolis Tindley (42-0 over Indianapolis Washington); Mike Johnson – Logansport (26-14 over Peru); Craig Chambers – Marion (39-14 over Huntington North); Phil Mason – Michigan City (49-28 over Griffith); Ryan Langferman – Milan (33-0 over Rushville); Adam Berry – Pioneer (47-0 over Lewis Cass); John Batty – Rockville (40-21 over Seeger); Antwon Jones – South Bend Adams (46-29 over Northridge); Andrew Totheroh – Tri (56-7 over Union City); Jeff Sprunger – Whitko (32-6 over Cambridge City Lincoln).  


Lafayette Central Catholic has 16 consecutive wins.

Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger and Monrovia have a 15-game winning streak.

Indianapolis Bishop Chatard and Fort Wayne Snider have both won seven straight contests.


North Central (Indianapolis) and Wood Memorial have dropped 22 straight games.

Cloverdale has lost 20 straight games on the field.

Frontier and Clarksville have a 16-game losing streak.

Hammond Bishop Noll has lost 15 straight games.

Indianapolis Marshall has dropped 14 straights contests.

Hammond Clark and Prairie Heights have suffered 13 losses in a row.

Blackford, Fort Wayne Wayne, Martinsville, and Madison have lost 12 consecutive games.

Martinsville and Switzerland County have lost 11 straight games.

Terre Haute South has dropped 10 games in a row.

Benton Central has lost nine straight contests.


Columbus East 44, New Palestine 28, Evansville Mater Dei 27, Pioneer 18, Gibson Southern 13, North White 11, Woodlan 11, Eastbrook 10, Lafayette Central Catholic 10, North Harrison 10, West Washington 10.


Riverton Parke 26,* *North Central (Indianapolis) 19, Wood Memorial 19, #Cloverdale 18, South Bend Riley 18, Clarksville 14, Frontier 14, Hammond Bishop Noll 13, Indianapolis Marshall 12, Portage 12, Centerville 11, Hammond Clark 11, Prairie Heights 11, Fort Wayne Wayne 10, Martinsville 10, Madison 10, Switzerland County 10. #-on the field


Columbus East has run off 63 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference games.

Penn has won 31 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

North Vermillion has won 30 consecutive Wabash River Conference games.

East Central has won 28 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Evansville Mater Dei has won 21 straight Southern Indiana Conference contests.

New Palestine has won 20 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

Northeastern has captured 17 straight Tri-Eastern Conference games.


Riverton Parke has lost 38 consecutive Wabash River Conference games.

Cloverdale has run off 26 straight West Central/Western Indiana Conference losses on the field.

Washington has suffered 26 straight Big Eight Conference losses.

Park Tudor has dropped 23 consecutive Indiana Crossroads Conference games.

Marion has lost 22 North Central Conference games in a row.

Benton Central has lost 18 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

North Central (Indianapolis) has dropped 17 Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference games in a row.


CLOSING IN ON 400:Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 395

CLOSING IN ON 300:Mike Gillin (Indian Creek) 299

CLOSING IN ON 200:Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 197

CLOSING IN ON 100:Kevin Mills (Crawford County) 99,* *John Barron (Plymouth) 99, Andy Thomas (Angola) 98, Tom Dilley (Guerin Catholic) 98, Mike Roeder (Northeastern) 97, Bob Prescott (Peru) 96, Brian Glesing (Floyd Central) 95, Steve Stirn (North Decatur) 95, Jim Rowland (New Haven) 95.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!