Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts

Peyton Manning Becomes Hall Of Fame Eligible In 2021

While Edgerrin James got the call to Canton and the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday for the Class of 2020, the Indianapolis Colts flavor is sure to continue for a second straight year in 2021, when Peyton Manning will appear on the ballot for the first time.


INDIANAPOLIS — Bill Polian, Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison — and now Edgerrin James.

The list of Hall of Famers from the record-setting Indianapolis Colts teams of the 2000s continues to grow.

It was James, the great running back, that got the call to Canton and the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday for the Class of 2020, which will formally be enshrined on Aug. 8.

So with the general manager, head coach, wide receiver and running back now receiving their gold jackets, who's next in line?

The quarterback.

Peyton Manning officially becomes Hall of Fame eligible for the first time next year for the Class of 2021, setting in motion back-to-back years celebrating notable Colts flavor in Canton.

Manning, of course, was the No. 1-overall pick by the Colts in the 1998 NFL Draft and would take the league by storm. By the time he retired following the 2015 season, he had broken just about every major record by a quarterback in NFL history, including (but not even close to being limited to):

— Career passing touchdowns (539)

— Career passing yards (71,940)

— Single-season passing touchdowns (55)

— Single-season passing yards (5,477)

— Total wins (201, including playoffs)

— Game-winning drives (56)

— Comeback wins (45)

— Games with four-plus touchdown passes (35)

— 4,000-plus yard passing seasons (14)

— Consecutive seasons with at least 25 passing touchdowns (13)

— Associated Press NFL Most Valuable Player awards (5; 2003, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2013)

So, yeah, it's not a stretch to assume that Manning will be selected for induction in his first year of eligibility next year. That goes for former Oakland Raiders and Green Bay Packers defensive back Charles Woodson, too, and possibly even former Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson.

But with two, possibly three, of the five Modern Era inductees already set in stone, could another Colts player possibly join the Class of 2021?

Reggie Wayne certainly hopes that's the case.

The wide receiver this year was one of just two Modern Era candidates to make it to the finalist stage in their first year of eligibility, joining former Pittsburgh Steelers safety Troy Polamalu.

Polamalu ultimately was selected for induction for the Class of 2020; one would figure No. 87 isn't too far behind, though.

Since 1970, about 90 percent of all candidates who make it to the finalist stage ultimately have been selected for induction at some point, according to the PFHOF.

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!