Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts

Indiana Football Digest's Insider - Week One 

Former River Forest boss Austen Robison has been the interim coach at Northwestern after current leader Patrick Rosner was suspended for an off-the-field issue.

John Hendryx notched his 200th career win with Knox's 27-6 decision over Winamac.

Brian Crabtree earned his 100th coaching victory with North Vermillion's 35-27 triumph over Evansville Bosse.

Whiteland ended defending Class 5A state champion Columbus East's 13-game winning streak with a 26-20 victory.

Richmond had its 12-game losing streak come to an end with a 34-16 win over Connersville.

West Central snapped its 12-game losing skid with a 72-6 triumph over Caston.

Clinton Central saw its 11-game losing streak come to a close with an 18-6 win over Frankfort.

Rushville ended an 11-game losing streak with a 36-35 win against Milan.

Merrillville ended the school's longest losing streak (seven games) with a 20-14 win over Andrean.

In their first game, Parke Heritage was a 51-14 winner over Seeger. The Wolves are a consolidation of Rockville and Turkey Run.

In Mount Vernon's (Fortville) 43-14 victory over Hamilton Heights, Mike Kirschner managed to get the better of his son Jon Kirschner, who was coaching in his first game.

Playing for the first time with New Palestine, Charlie Spegal ran 18 times for 221 yards and a school-best seven touchdowns in the Dragons' 77-0 blanking of defending Class 5A state runner-up Kokomo. It also happened to be the worst defeat in program history for the Wildkats.

Nick Taylor's 18-yard field goal with 55.9 seconds left helped Pendleton Heights to a 31-30 win over Mississinewa.

Matt Harris' two-yard run with 34 seconds remaining led Hamilton Southeastern to a 21-20 victory against Lawrence Centreal.

Indianapolis Bishop Chatard's first game at its own field proved to be a huge success as the Trojans recorded a 38-7 triumph against defending Class 3A state runner-up Brebeuf Jesuit.

Tom Wogoman became Northridge's all-time winningest coach with the Raiders' 21-12 triumph over South Bend Adams. Wogoman now has 38 career triumphs.


The following coaches earned their first win at their new school.

Jason Simmons – Ben Davis, Eastern Greene – Travis Wray, Doug Armstrong – Eastern Hancock, Troy Burgess – Evansville Central, Jason Garrett – Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, Ryan Hall – Founbtain Central, Adam Morris – Hamilton Southeastern, Brian Parker – Hanover Central, Craig Osika – Hobart, Bill Peebles – Indianapolis Cathedral, Joshua Pearson – Indianapolis Southridge, Jimmie Mays – Indianapolis Tindley, Austin Colby -  Maconaquah, Keith Kinder – Mishawaka, Mike Davidson – Mishawaka Marian, Mike Kirschner – Mount Vernon (Fortville), Trent Fine – North Daviess, Scott Rouch – North Newton, Eric Feller – Oldenburg Academy, Brian Moore – Parke Heritage, Tony Lewis – Richmond, Dan Rector – Rushville, Greg Mose – Southern Wells, Bart Curtis – Warsaw.


Pioneer has a 17-game winning streak.

Ben Davis has won 16 straight games.

Evansville Memorial has won nine games in a row.

East Central and Southridge have captured seven straight contests.


Clarksville has a 36-game losing streak.

South Bend Clay has suffered 23 losses in a row.

Anderson Prep Academy has dropped 19 straight contests.

Fort Wayne North has a 17-game losing streak.

Crawfordsville has 16 consecutive losses

Indianapolis Washington has lost 14 games in a row.

Edinburgh, Madison-Grant, Huntington North, and South Newton have suffered 13 consecutive losses.

Fremont and Whitko have dropped 12 straight games.

Dugger Union has lost 11 games in a row.

Caston and Fairfield are in the midst of a 10-game losing streak.


New Palestine 46, Pioneer 35, Gibson Southern 31, Fort Wayne Snider 20, Eastbrook 14, North Harrison 14, Lowell 13, Indianapolis Ben Davis 12, Angola 11, Eastern Greene 11, Northridge 11.


Clarksville 32, South Bend Clay 20, Anderson Prep Academy 17, Fort Wayne North 15, Crawfordsville 14, Indianapolis Washington 12, Whitko 12, Edinburgh 11, Huntington North 11, Madison-Grant 11, South Newton 11.


Columbus East has run off 77 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

Penn has won 41 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

East Central has won 34 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 33 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

Gibson Southern has won 23 consecutive Pocket Conference contests.

Pioneer has come out on top in 23 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Fort Wayne Snider has captured 20 consecutive Summit Athletic Conference matchups.


Benton Central has lost 27 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

Clarksville has suffered 26 straight Mid-Southern Conference losses.

South Bend Clay has suffered 16 straight Northern Indiana Conference losses.


WINNINGEST ACTIVE COACHES: Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 411, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 351, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 309, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 304, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 291, John Hart (Brownsburg) 284, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 256, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 252, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 249, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 233, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 227, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 222, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 218, Mark Bless (Avon) 216, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 213, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 204, Bart Curtis (Warsaw) 202

CLOSING IN ON 200: Sherwood Haydock (Woodlan) 188, Brian Moore (Parke Heritage) 188, Jeff Cain (Whiting) 183, Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina) 183

CLOSING IN ON 150: Steve Weber (Bedford North Lawrence) 148, Dave Pasch (Indianapolis Lutheran) 141

CLOSING IN ON 100: Jayson West (Warren Central) 98, Kurt Tippmann (Fort Wayne Snider) 98, Troy Burgess (Evansville Central) 96, Aaron Tolle (Tipton) 96, Kevin Hutchins (Monrovia) 93, Mike Campbell (Jimtown) 92, Doug Hurt (Castle) 92

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!