Skip to main content

Indiana Football Digest's Insider - 2018 Week Six


Stephen Speer will serve as Greenfield-Central's heal coach for the time being while Adam Sherman deals with a medical issue.

Eastern Hancock's Doug Armstrong earned his 100th career win with the Royals' 41-7 triumph over South Decatur.

Heritage Hills ended Gibson Southern's 25-game Pocket Conference winning streak with 31-7 victory over the Titans.

Lafayette Jeff set a school recorded for points scored in its 76-0 blanking of Anderson. The Broncos' previous high was ironically a 73-37 decision over Anderson in 1997.

Adams Central kicker Baidea Sprunger converted all seven of her extra-point attempts in a 49-12 win over South Adams to give her 34 consecutive conversions, breaking a school record that had stood for close to three decades.

In Angola's 70-0 blanking of Fairfield, Chase Schnepf became the Hornets' all-time leading scorerwith 246 points, surpassing the previous mark of 240 points hell by Mike Berry.

Jared Blake's one-yard touchdown run with 23 seconds left helped Maconaquah to 35-28 win over No. 2 (Class 1A) North Central (Farmersburg).


Here is the last time these teams were 6-0: Adams Central (2016), Boonville (1991), Indianapolis

Bishop Chatard (2002), Whiting (2014), Tipton (2017), West Lafayette (2015), Eastern

(Greentown) (1974), Browsnburg (2016), New Palestine (2017), Pioneer (2017), Triton Central

(2007), Warren Central (2014), Marion (1997), Angola (2017), Bremen (2011), NorthWood

(2016), Paoli (2009), Heritage Hills (2007), Western Boone (2014), Evansville Central (2006),

Evansville Memorial (2017), Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger (2010), Rochester (2007), Southwood

(1996), Greencastle (2012), Northview (2015), Churubusco (2017), Delphi (1978), Covenant

Christian (2016). Traders Point Christian (first time).

Here is the time these teams were 0-6: Elwood (2017), Connersville (2010), Lake Station (2015),

Northwestern (2002), Fremont (2017), Benton Central (2010), Clinton Prairie (1998), Greenfield-

Central (2005), Caston (2006), Park Tudor (2008), Wes-Del (2011), Edinburgh (2017), Clarksville

(2017), North White (2017), South Newton (2017), Anderson (2016), Bellmont (1998), John Glenn

(1979), Wawasee (1991), Crawfordsville (2017), Frankfort (2017), Fort Wayne South (2017),

Whitko (2017). Peru (2011), Cambridge City Lincoln (2013), Owen Valley (2009), Hammond (0-5-

2006). Fairfield (0-5-2002), South Bend Clay (0-5-2017), Dugger Union (0-4-2017).


The following coaches earned their first win at their new school: Joey Paridaen (Evansville North),

Colin McCullough (Gary West), Richard Benberry (Kokomo), Joe O'Connell (River Forest), John

Edge (South Spencer), Alam Handley (Wabash).


Pioneer has a 21-game winning streak.

Evansville Memorial has won 14 games in a row.


Clarksville has a 41-game losing streak.

South Bend Clay has suffered 27 losses in a row.

Crawfordsville has 21 consecutive losses

Edinburgh and South Newton have suffered 18 consecutive losses.

Fremont and Whitko have dropped 17 straight games.

Caston is in the midst of a 15-game losing streak.

Dugger Union and Fairfield have lost 14 in a row.

Bellmont has dropped 11 consecutive contests.

Cambridge City Lincoln and Connersville have a 10-game losing streak.


New Palestine 51, Pioneer 40, Angola 16. Adams Central 12, Northview 12, Whiting 11, West

Lafayette 11, Brownsburg 11, Evansville Central 11, Southwood 11, Warren Central 10, Paoli 9,

Heritage Hills 8, Evansville Memorial 8, Churubusco 8, Delphi 8, NorthWood 7, Indianapolis

Bishop Chatard 7, Triton Central 7, Eastern (Greentown) 7, Greencastle 7, Fort Wayne Bishop

Dwenger 7, Rochester 7, Traders Point Christian 7.


Clarksville 37, South Bend Clay 24, Crawfordsville 19, Whitko 17, Edinburgh 16, South Newton

16, Fremont 14, Caston 14, Fairfield 13, Bellmont 10, Cambridge City Lincoln 9, Connersville 9,

Hammond 8, Fort Wayne South 8, John Glenn 8, Clinton Prairie 8, Greenfield-Central 8, Park

Tudor 8, Anderson 7, Owen Valley 7.


Columbus East has run of 80 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

Penn has won 45 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 37 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

East Central has won 36 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Pioneer has come out on top in 27 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Lafayette Jeff has won 15 straight North Central Conference games.

Indianapolis Scecina has won 12 straight Indiana Crossroads Conference contests.

Griffith has claimed 11 Greater South Shore Conference games in a row.

Lowell has a 10-game Northwest Crossroads Conference winning streak.


Clarksville has suffered 30 straight Mil-Southern Conference losses.

Benton Central has lost 29 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

Speedway has a 19-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak.

South Bend Clay has suffered 19 straight Northern Indiana Conference losses.

Lawrence North has dropped 18 consecutive Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference games.

Crawford County has lost 17 straight Patoka Lake Conference contests.

Kankakee Valley has a 16-game Northwest Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Caston has lost 15 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Southern Wells has dropped 15 Allen County Conference games in a row.

Crawfordsville has lost 15 consecutive Sagamore Conference games.

Richmond has a 13-game North Central Conference losing streak.

Park Tudor has a 12-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Edinburgh has dropped 11 Mil-Indiana Conference games in a row.


WINNINGEST ACTIVE COACHES: Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 415, Russ Raltke (New Prairie)

354, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 313, Bob Gallis (Columbus East) 308, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington

South) 294, John Hart (Brownsburg) 290, Jeff Alamson (Eastbrook) 260, Rick Wimmer (Fishers)

253, Reel May (Brownstown Central) 253, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 235, Eric Moore (Center

Grove) 230, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 224, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 221, Mark

Bless (Avon) 220, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 214,

Bart Curtis (Warsaw) 206, Scot Shaw

(Elkhart Memorial) 205, John Henlryx (Knox) 204

CLOSING IN ON 200: Brian Moore (Parke Heritage) 192, Sherwood Haylock (Woollan) 192, Jef

Cain (Whiting) 188, Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina) 187

CLOSING IN ON 150: Dave Pasch (Indianapolis Lutheran) 144

CLOSING IN ON 100: Kevin Hutchins (Monrovia) 96, Ron Qualls (Anderson) 95, Mike Campbell

(Jimtown) 95, Doug Hurt (Castle) 94, Darin Ward (Boonville) 94

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.