Skip to main content

Indiana Football Digest's Insider - 2018 Week Five


Trinity Lutheran has cancelled the rest of its season after being informed by Indiana High School Athletic Association officials that it was in violation of an enrollment rule.

Bluffton was forced to forfeit wins over Northfield and Manchester because of the use of an ineligible player.

Southern Wells was forced to forfeit its win over Fremont because of the use of an ineligible player.

With its 45-26 decision over Southport, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard earned its 500th career program win and became the fastest school to achieve this feat.

Arron Tolle of Tipton earned his 100th career victory with a 49-21 decision of Lafayette Central Catholic.

Evansville Central's Troy Burgess picked up his 100th career win with the Bears 41-34 triumph over Castle.

Alex Holiday scampered 34 times for 328 yards and five touchdowns as Fort Wayne North snapped its 20-game losing streak with a 52-49 victory over Fort Wayne Bishop Luers. The Legends also ended an 18-game Summit Athletic Conference losing skid. Luers quarterback Norman Knapke was 26-of-38 for 555 yards and five scores in the setback.

Madison had its 13-game losing streak end with a 35-14 win over Jennings County.

Huntington North had its 10-game Northeast 8 Conference losing streak snapped with a 34-14 win ober Bellmont.

Seth Rundell scored on a 10-yard scoring run and then converted the game-winning two-point conversion in overtime, lifting Plymouth to a 29-28 win over Elkhart Memorial.

Bo Sanders had a pair of touchdown catches, including the game winning eight-yard reception in overtime, helping Indianapolis Cathedral to a 20-14 win over Cincinnati St. Xavier.

Freshman quarterback Aiden Leffler threw for 160 yards and two touchdowns and ran for 112 yards and three scores as Indianapolis Roncalli avoided its firs 0-5 start with a 38-28 win over top-ranked (Class 2A) Indianapolis Scecina.


Here is the last time these teams were 5-0: South Adams (2017), Adams Central (2016), Boonville (1991), Indianapolis Bishop Chatard (2002), Whiting (2016), Tipton (2017), West Lafayette (2015), Eastern (Greentown) (1979), Browsnburg (2016), New Palestine (2017), Pioneer (2017), Triton Central (2013), Warren Central (2014), Brownstown Central (2016), Martinsville (2001). Marion (2006), Angola (2017), Bremen (2011), NorthWood (2016), Paoli (2012), Heritage Hills (2016), Western Boone (2014), Evansville Central (2006), Evansville Memorial (2017), North Central (Farmersburg) (2017), Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger (2013), Rochester (2017), Southwood (1996), Greencastle (2016), Northview (2015), Delphi (1978), Covenant Christian (2017). Traders Point Christian (first time).

Here is the time these teams were 0-5: Heritage (2017), Elwood (2017), Connersville (2015), Hammond Gavit (2002), Gary West (1996), Lake Station (2015), River Forest (2016), Northwestern (2002), Benton Central (2010), Clinton Prairie (1998), Greenfield-Central (2005), Caston (2007), Park Tudor (2015), Wes-Del (2011), Edinburgh (2017), Clarksville (2017), Perry Meridian (2017), North White (2017), South Newton (2017), Anderson (2016), Kokomo (1975), Bellmont (1998), John Glenn (1980), Wawasee (1995), Springs Valley (2016), South Spencer (2012), Crawfordsville (2017), Frankfort (2017), Evansville North (1991), Fort Wayne South (2017), Whitko (2017). Wabash (2017), North Miami (2015), Peru (2011), Winchester (2011), Cambridge City Lincoln (2017), Riverton Parke (2016), Owen Valley (2009), Hammond (0-4-2006). Fairfield (0-4-2002), South Bend Clay (0-4-2017), Dugger Union (0-3-2017).


The following coaches earned their first win at their new school: Michael Brevard (Fort Wayne North), Michael Clevenger (Shelbyville).


Pioneer has a 20-game winning streak.

Evansville Memorial has won 13 games in a row.


Clarksville has a 40-game losing streak.

South Bend Clay has suffered 26 losses in a row.

Crawfordsville has 20 consecutive losses

Edinburgh and South Newton have suffered 17 consecutive losses.

Fremont and Whitko have dropped 16 straight games.

Caston is in the midst of a 14-game losing streak.

Dugger Union and Fairfield have lost 13 in a row.


New Palestine 50, Pioneer 39, Angola 15.


Clarksville 36, South Bend Clay 23, Crawfordsville 18, Whitko 16, Edinburgh 15, South Newton 15, Fremont 13, Caston 13, Fairfield 12.


Columbus East has run off 80 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

Penn has won 44 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

New Palestine has won 36 Hoosier Heritage Conference contests.

East Central has won 35 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Pioneer has come out on top in 26 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Gibson Southern has won 25 consecutive Pocket Conference contests.

Lafayette Jeff has won 14 straight North Central Conference games.

Indianapolis Scecina has won 11 straight Indiana Crossroads Conference contests.

Griffith has claimed 10 Greater South Shore Conference games in a row.

Lowell has a nine-game Northwest Crossroads Conference winning streak.


Clarksville has suffered 29 straight Mid-Southern Conference losses.

Benton Central has lost 28 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

Speedway has a 19-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak.

South Bend Clay has suffered 18 straight Northern Indiana Conference losses.

Lawrence North has dropped 17 consecutive Metropolitan Interscholastic Conference games.

Crawford County has lost 16 straight Patoka Lake Conference contests.

Kankakee Valley has a 15-game Northwest Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Caston has lost 15 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Southern Wells has dropped 14 Allen County Conference games in a row.

Crawfordsville has lost 14 consecutive Sagamore Conference games.

Park Tudor has a 12-game Indiana Crossroads Conference losing streak.

Richmond has a 12-game North Central Conference losing streak.

Edinburgh has dropped 10 Mid-Indiana Conference games in a row.


WINNINGEST ACTIVE COACHES: Larry "Bud" Wright (Sheridan) 414, Russ Radtke (New Prairie) 353, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 312, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 307, Mo Moriarity (Bloomington South) 294, John Hart (Brownsburg) 289, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 259, Rick Wimmer (Fishers) 253, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 253, Scott Mannering (Twin Lakes) 234, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 229, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 224, Kevin O'Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 221, Mark Bless (Avon) 219, Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 215, Scot Shaw (Elkhart Memorial) 205, Bart Curtis (Warsaw) 205, John Hendryx (Knox) 202

CLOSING IN ON 200: Brian Moore (Parke Heritage) 191, Sherwood Haydock (Woodlan) 191, Jeff Cain (Whiting) 187, Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina) 186

CLOSING IN ON 150: Dave Pasch (Indianapolis Lutheran) 144

CLOSING IN ON 100: Doug Armstrong (Eastern Hancock) 99, Kevin Hutchins (Monrovia) 96, Mike Campbell (Jimtown) 94, Doug Hurt (Castle) 93

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.