Skip to main content

Week One Coach of the Week

Noblesville Head Football Coach Lance Scheib has been named the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week, a program presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield. Scheib was selected after his Millers defeated Fishers High School 27-24 on Friday night. The Millers defeated the Class 6A No. 7 Tigers for the first time in five seasons.





In a monumental win for the Noblesville Millers football program, this marks the first time in six seasons in which they came out of the opening game victorious. The win will be an important building block for the team as they begin preparation to take on the Class 6A No. 10 Brownsburg Bulldogs next Friday. Lance Scheib is 18-35 in his 6th year at Noblesville, 116-101 in 22nd year overall.

The 2013 season marks the fourteenth year the Indianapolis Colts will be recognizing outstanding Indiana High School football coaches through the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week program, presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield.

All high school head coaches in the state of Indiana are eligible regardless of their school size, league or division.  Coaches are evaluated on various factors including the coach's impact on his team, school and community, as well as performance of the team.  The honorees are selected by a panel of high school football media, former athletic directors and other football representatives from all regions of the state.

Each Monday, following a high school football game weekend, one head coach will be announced. Coach Pagano will also announce each week's winner in his weekly press conference.

At the conclusion of the high school football season, each winning coach will receive a framed certificate signed by NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, Colts Head Coach Chuck Pagano, Colts General Manager Ryan Grigson and Colts Youth Football Commissioner Mike Prior, as well as a $1,000 donation from the NFL Foundation.  In addition, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield will contribute $1,000 for the school's athletic fund.

The following coaches were recognized as honorable mentions for Week 1:

Region 1- Leroy Marsh - Munster

Region 6- Justin Pelley – Western Boone

Region 2- Tom Wogoman - Northridge

Region 7- Mike Kirschner – Ben Davis

Region 3 – Kurt Tippman – FW Snider

Region 8- Winner

Region 4 – Steve Keown - Carroll

Region 9- Tom Packer – South Spencer

Region 5 – Aaron Tolle - Tipton

Region 10- Mike Donahue – Silver Creek

For more information, please contact Phil Andrews of the Indianapolis Colts at (317) 808-5322.  Lance Scheib is also available for questions/comments at 317-403-2963. Additional information on the program may be found at

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.