Skip to main content

The Indiana Football Digest's 2013 Insider Volume IX








Bloomington South coach Mo Moriarty notched his 250th career win with the Panthers' 35-14 decision over Columbus North.

Fairfield clinched at least a share of the Northeast Corner Conference crown with a 35-14 win over previously unbeaten Churubusco. This snapped the Eagles' 23-game NECC winning streak.

John Glenn was forced to forfeit victories over Knox, LaVille, and Triton because of an academic rules violation. The Falcons gave new coach Dave Sharpe his first official win with a 46-14 decision over Culver.

Union (Dugger) ended a 14-game losing streak with a 44-20 win over Oldenburg Academy. It also ended the Bulldogs' 14-game regular season skid.

River Forest snapped Whiting's 17-game regular season winning streak with a 30-20 victory.

New Prairie equaled a school-best 62 points for the third time this season in a 62-0 blanking of LaVille.

Huntington North finished off Richmond's 12-game North Central Conference winning streak with a 35-16 victory.

Delphi had its 16-game Hoosier Conference losing streak snapped with a 17-14 win over Benton Central.

Indianapolis Northwest had its 10-game winning streak snapped with a 14-8 win over Indianapolis Manual.


Here is the last time the following teams started 8-0.

Andrean (2011), Gibson Southern (first time), West Lafayette (2011), Columbus East (2012), New Prairie (first time), Eastern Hancock (1998), Batesville (2009), Evansville Mater Dei (2012), Brownstown Central (2011), Winamac (2000), Leo (2012), Churubusco (2011), North Vermillion (2012), New Palestine (2011), New Haven (2012), Southport (first time), Penn (2011), Linton-Stockton (2012).

Here is the last time these teams opened 0-8.

Cambridge City Lincoln (2001), Wabash (2012), Gary Roosevelt (2008), South Dearborn (2012), Clarksville (first time), Crawfordsville (1999), DeKalb (2010), S.B. Washington (2007), Taylor (2012), F.W. Bishop Luers (first time), North Putnam (1995), Goshen (2004), Harrison (West Lafayette) (2012), Seymour (2011), Hagerstown (first time), Wood Memorial (2012), New Castle (2011), Muncie South (2005), Mooresville (2012), Lawrence North (2012, Indianapolis Manual (2009),* *Washington (2004).


Here are the new coaches who have picked up their first win at their new place of employment.

Indianapolis Northwest – Nicolas Morales (14-8 over Indianapolis Manual).

Here are the teams that have either clinched a tie or won an outright conference championship. Outright teams are bolded.

Allen County Athletic: Leo

Big Eight: Mount Carmel (Ill.)

Central Indiana: Eastbrook

Conference Indiana: Southport

Duneland Athletic: Merrillville

Eastern Indiana (4A): East Central

Eastern Indiana (3A): Batesville

Great Lakes Athletic: Hammond Morton

Greater South Shore: Whiting

Hoosier Heritage: New Palestine

Hoosier Hills:            Columbus East

Indiana Crossroads: Cardinal Ritter

Metropolitan Interscholastic: Center Grove

Mid-Indiana Football: Eastern Hancock

Mid-Southern: Brownstown Central

Mid-State: Whiteland

Midwest: Winamac

North Central: Richmond

Northeast Corner: Fairfield           

Northeast Hoosier: New Haven

Northern State: New Prairie

Northwestern: Gary West

Patoka Lake Athletic: Perry Central

Southern Indiana Athletic:             Evansville Mater Dei

Southwest: North Central (Farmersburg)

Wabash River: North Vermillion

West Central: South Putnam

Western Indiana: Northview


Longest current losing streaks

Lafayette Harrison has dropped 34 consecutive games.

Wabash has 26 losses in a row.

Taylor has 24 consecutive losses.

Lawrence North and South Dearborn have a 19-game losing streak.

Crawfordsville has lost 16 straight games.

DeKalb and Goshen have suffered 11 losses in a row.

Cambridge City Lincoln and Gary Roosevelt have dropped 10 games in a row.

Clarksville, Hagerstown, Seymour, North Putnam, Washington, Muncie South, Wood Memorial, and South Bend Washington have a nine-game losing streak.

Longest current conference winning streaks

Columbus East has run off 48 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference games.

Lafayette Central Catholic has won 46 straight Hoosier Heartland and Hoosier Conference games.

East Central has won 21 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Penn has won 19 straight Northern Indiana Conference games.

Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter has 15 straight Indiana Crossroads Conference wins.

Longest current conference losing streaks

Wabash has lost 41 straight Three Rivers Conference games.

Lafayette Harrison has suffered 31 straight Hoosier Crossroads Conference losses.

Central Noble has 26 Northeast Corner Conference losses in a row.

Union (Dugger) has suffered 23 straight Southwest Seven Conference losses.

Riverton Parke has lost 22 consecutive Wabash River Conference games.

Mooresville has 17 straight Mid-State Conference losses.

Taylor has suffered 17 Mid-Indiana Conference losses in a row.

Cloverdale has run off 15 straight West Central Conference losses.

South Decatur has 12 consecutive Mid-Indiana Conference losses.


Linton-Stockton 29, Columbus East 24 North Vermillion 18, Brownstown Central 15, Penn 13, Andrean 12, New Prairie 12, Eastern Hancock 9, Leo 9, Winamac 9.


Lafayette (Harrison) 31, Wabash 24, Taylor 22, Lawrence North 17, South Dearborn 17, Crawfordsville 16, Mooresville 16, S.B. Washington 15, DeKalb 10, Gary Roosevelt 9, Cambridge City Lincoln 9, S.B. Washington 9, Indianapolis Manual 8.


Closing in on 150

Herb King (Rockville) 149

Ott Hurle (Scecina Memorial) 148

Closing in on 100

Bob Holmes (Bremen) 99

Dave Pasch (Indianapolis Lutheran) 99

Kevin Mills (Springs Valley) 98

Mike Cheviron (Goshen) 96

Pat Parks (Shelbyville) 95

Bud Ozmun (Oak Hill) 94

Roger Dodson (Greenfield-Central) 92

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.