Skip to main content

Game Release: Bengals at Colts

Colts host Bengals in AFC Wild Card Matchup





The Indianapolis Colts (11-5) open the postseason with an AFC Wild Card matchup against the Cincinnati Bengals (10-5-1) at home on Sunday afternoon. Kickoff is slated for 1:05p.m. EST at Lucas Oil Stadium.

The Colts claimed their third straight 11-win season in 2014 and their second consecutive AFC South Division title. The team went 6-0 against division opponents for the second straight year, extending its franchise-record winning streak to 13 games over divisional foes.

Indianapolis will be facing Cincinnati in the postseason for the first time since Dec. 26, 1970. The Colts defeated the Bengals that day by a score of 17-0 in a divisional playoff game. Overall, Indianapolis holds a 18-10 advantage in the all-time head-to-head series (regular season and post-season).

The two teams met earlier this season on Oct. 19 with the Colts shutting out the Bengals, 27-0. The offense rushed for 171 yards, which marked its second-highest total of the season, while the defense held Cincinnati to 1-of-13 (8%) on third down and 135 total net yards.

Five Colts players earned Pro Bowl nods in 2014, including cornerback Vontae Davis, wide receiver T.Y. Hilton, quarterback Andrew Luck, punter Pat McAfee and kicker Adam Vinatieri. Luck finished the year with a career-high and league-leading 40 touchdown passes, while breaking the single-season franchise record for passing yards (4,761). Hilton tied a career-high with 82 receptions and set a personal-best with 1,345 receiving yards, which ranked sixth in the NFL. Vinatieri posted the fifth highest single-season field goal percentage (96.77) in NFL history.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.