Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts

Five Former Colts Among 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame Nominees

Intro: The Pro Football Hall of Fame announced a 113-person list that will represent the 2015 nominees. Which Colts connections made this year’s list?





INDIANAPOLIS – On Tuesday evening, the Pro Football Hall of Fame unveiled their 2015 nominees and a handful of Colts appeared on the 113-person list.

Tony Dungy, Edgerrin James (first-year eligible) and Marvin Harrison compile some of the more compelling cases for the Indianapolis candidates.

Many thought Harrison should have been a first-ballot inductee last year as he finds himself in the top-five of several NFL receiving lists.

James, the Colts franchise leader in rushing (9,226 yards) is in his first year of candidacy and ranks 13th in NFL history with 15,610 total yards from scrimmage.

This will mark the second year Dungy has been on the ballot after he made the final 15 last year.

Rounding out the Colts contingent are offensive lineman Chris Hinton and linebacker Cornelius Bennett.

This year's list of Modern-Era nominees includes 99 players and 14 coaches. A Modern-Era candidate – player or coach – must be retired for at least five consecutive seasons to be eligible for consideration.

The complete list of Modern-Era candidates for the Class of 2015 consists of 113 nominees. From that list, the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees that will be announced in late November. That semifinalist list will be further reduced by a mail ballot to 15 Modern-Era finalists and announced in early January.

While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the selection process by-laws provide that between four and eight new members will be selected.

The actual voting for the Class of 2015 will be conducted at the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee's annual meeting, which will be held in Arizona on Saturday, Jan. 31, 2015 the day before Super Bowl XLIX. The results will be announced that evening.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2015 will be formally enshrined during the Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival in Canton, Ohio next August. The Enshrinement ceremony is televised nationally by the Hall of Fame's broadcast partners, NFL Network and ESPN.


*-Finalist in 2014; First-year eligibles underlined

Quarterbacks:(4) – Randall Cunningham, Rich Gannon, Phil Simms, Kurt Warner

Wide Receivers:(9) – *Tim Brown (also KR), Isaac Bruce, Gary Clark, Henry Ellard (also PR), *Marvin Harrison, Torry Holt, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith

Tight End: (1) – Mark Bavaro

Running Backs:(14) – Shaun Alexander, Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, *Jerome Bettis, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Edgerrin James, Daryl Johnston, Jamal Lewis, Herschel Walker (also KR), Ricky Watters

Offensive Linemen: (23) – Willie Anderson (T), Tony Boselli (T), Jeff Bostic (C), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T),  Jon Jansen (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T),  Kevin Mawae (C/G), Mark May (G/T/C),Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Orlando Pace (T), Chris Samuels (T), Mark Schlereth (G), *Will Shields (G), Tra Thomas (T), Steve Wisniewski (G)

* *

Defensive Linemen: (12) – Al "Bubba" Baker (DE), Jerome Brown (DT), Carl Hairston  (DE/DT),  *Charles Haley (also LB), Jevon Kearse (DE), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Steve McMichael (DT/NT), Fred Smerlas (NT), Greg Townsend (DE), Ted Washington (DT/NT), Bryant Young (DE)

Linebackers:(13) – Cornelius Bennett, Tedy Bruschi, *Kevin Greene (also DE), Ken Harvey,  Clay Matthews, Willie McGinest (also DE),  Karl Mecklenburg, Matt Millen, Sam Mills, Junior Seau, Chris Spielman, Darryl Talley, Zach Thomas

Defensive Backs: (16) – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Thomas Everett (S), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), *John Lynch (S), Terry McDaniel (CB), Tim McDonald (S), Frank Minnifield (CB), Shawn Springs (CB), Troy Vincent (CB/S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S)

Kickers/Punters: (5) – *Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), Jason Elam (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)

Special Teams/Position Players: (2) – Brian Mitchell (RB/PR/KR), Steve Tasker (also WR)

Coaches: (14) –Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, *Tony Dungy, Tom Flores, Mike Holmgren, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Lou Saban, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!