Skip to main content
Indianapolis Colts

Tony Dungy, Edgerrin James, Marvin Harrison Among 26 Pro Football Hall Of Fame Semifinalists

Intro: On Tuesday night, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced their 26 semifinalists for the 2015 class. Which former Colts made the cut?





INDIANAPOLIS – Another cut has been made for the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame Class and several Colts still remain.

A list of more than 126 candidates is down to 26 with Tony Dungy, Edgerrin James and Marvin Harrison left as semifinalists.

On January 8, the 26-man list will be dwindled down to 15 finalists before a 4-to-8 man class is voted on the Saturday of Super Bowl weekend.

This will be the third year for Dungy to be on the ballot after the former Colts head coach was a finalist in 2014.

In his coaching career, Dungy took 11-of-13 teams to the playoffs including becoming the first African-American head coach to win a Super Bowl.

He earned 10 consecutive trips to the playoffs, which is an NFL record for a head coach. Dungy is also the first coach to beat all 32 NFL teams.

For Harrison, this marks his second year being eligible with many people thinking the wide receiver should have gone in on the first ballot in 2014.

Harrison's place in the NFL receiving record book is well documented: 3rd all-time in catches (1,102), 7th all-time in receiving yards (15,580) and 5th all-time in touchdowns (128).

The 2015 ballot is the first year James has been eligible for Canton.

James is the Colts franchise leader in rushing yards (9,226) and ranks 13th in NFL history with 15,610 total yards from scrimmage.

PK-Morten Andersen

S-Steve Atwater

RB-Jerome Bettis

WR/KR-Tim Brown

WR-Isaac Bruce

Coach-Don Coryell

RB-Roger Craig

RB-Terrell Davis

LB-Kevin Greene

DL/LB-Charles Haley

WR-Tory Holt

OT-Joe Jacoby

Coach-Jimmy Johnson

C-Mike Kenn

CB-Ty Law

S-John Lynch

C/G-Kevin Mawae

LB-Karl Mecklenburg

OT-Orlando Pace

LB-Junior Seau

G-Will Shields

QB-Kurt Warner

S-Darren Woodson


The list of 26 semifinalists will be reduced by mail ballot to 15 Modern-Era Finalists. That list increases to 18 finalists with the inclusion of the two recommended candidates of the Hall of Fame's Contributors Committee and one finalist as selected by the Seniors Committee.

The Contributor Finalists are former longtime general managers and team executives Bill Polian and Ron Wolf. Minnesota Vikings center Mick Tingelhoff (1962-1978) is the 2015 Seniors Finalist.

Polian, Wolf, and Tingelhoff will be voted on separately and, like all other finalists, must receive 80% positive vote from the full selection committee during the annual selection meeting on January 31, 2015.

The results of the Modern-Era reduction vote to 15 finalists will be announced during a one-hour special on NFL Network on Thursday, January 8 at 9 p.m. ET.BYLAWS:

To be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, a nominated player or coach must not have participated as an active player or coach for five consecutive seasons.

Although there is no set number of enshrinees for any Hall of Fame Class, the Pro Football Hall of Fame's current ground rules stipulate that between four and eight new members will be selected each year. No more than five Modern-Era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six, seven, or eight can only be achieved if one or more of the Contributor and Seniors Finalists are elected.

The Class of 2015 will be determined at the Selection Committee's annual meeting on Saturday, January 31, 2015 in Phoenix, Ariz., the day before Super Bowl XLIX. The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2015 will be announced during "4th Annual NFL Honors," a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally that evening from 9-11 p.m. (ET) on NBC. "NFL Honors" will be taped earlier that evening at Symphony Hall in Phoenix, Ariz. from 8-10 p.m. (ET) when the 2015 Hall of Fame class will be introduced for the first time. In addition, the NFL and The Associated Press will announce their annual accolades in this awards show with the winners on hand to accept their awards. The Class of 2015 will be officially enshrined on Saturday, Aug. 8 in Canton, Ohio as the main event of the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Annual Enshrinement Festival Celebration.

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

2024 Season Tickets - Now Available!

Season Tickets for the 2024 Season are available now! Get access to the best seating locations, best pricing, and best benefits as a Colts Season Ticket Member!