Skip to main content

The Indiana Football Digest's 2013 Insider Volume XII








Tipton snapped Lafayette Central Catholic's 25-game post-season game winning streak with a 28-24 triumph. It was LCC's first playoff loss since 2008.

Alexandria earned a trip to its first sectional final with a 27-26 win over Elwood in Class 2A Sectional 38 play. The loss ended the career of Elwood running back Sammy Mireles, who ran 29 times for 196 yards and two touchdowns. Mireles, who became the state's all-time leading rusher earlier this season, finished with over 8,000 total yards.

Anderson picked up its first playoff since 1993 with a 35-24 victory over Richmond in Class 5A Sectional semifinal action.

Lafayette Harrison coach Tony Martin was relieved of his duties after four seasons. Martin finished with a 3-37 record, including 36 consecutive losses.

Indianapolis Tech coach Emil Ekiyor has resigned after three seasons. Ekiyor compiled a 15-16 mark, including a 5-6 record this season.

Larry McWhorter's run at Zionsville came to an end Friday with the Eagles' 35-21 loss to Indianapolis Cathedral. McWhorter, who is going to start the program at Covenant Christian, was 151-60 in 18 seasons, including a 4-6 record in 2013.

Lake Central earned its first sectional crown since 1999 and fifth overall with a 31-0 shutout of Merrillville in the Class 6A Sectional 1 finale.

Penn captured its 20th sectional crown and first since 2011 with a 30-0 win over Chesterton in the Class 6A Sectional 2 final.

Carroll (F.W.) made it back-to-back sectional crowns with a 42-7 decision over Warsaw in the Class 6A Sectional 3 title game. It was the fourth championship for the Chargers.

Carmel posted a 35-20 win over Fishers for its first sectional title since 2011 with a 35-20 win against Fishers in the Class 6A Sectional 4 final. It was the Greyhounds' 25th title.

Indianapolis Pike avenged an earlier 49-48 loss to Ben Davis with a 34-32 triumph in the Class 6A Sectional 5 finale. It was the second straight title and third all-time for the Red Devils.

Warren Central claimed its first sectional championship since 2009 and 14th overall with a 14-7 decision over Indianapolis North Central in Class 6A Sectional 6 action.

Southport won its first sectional championship since 1990 by downing Indianapolis Tech in the Class 6A Sectional 7 final. It was the Cardinals' third crown overall.

Center Grove blanked Jeffersonville, 35-0, in the Class 6A Sectional 8 title game to win third straight sectional trophy and ninth all-time.


Here is the last time the following teams started 11-0.

Andrean (2003), Gibson Southern (first time), Columbus East (2012), New Prairie (first time), Eastern Hancock (first time), Evansville Mater Dei (2001), Brownstown Central (2003), Winamac (2000), New Palestine (2011), Southport (1949), Penn (2011), Linton-Stockton (2012).

Here is the last time these teams finished 0-10.

Wabash (2012), Gary Roosevelt (first time), South Dearborn (2012), Crawfordsville (1999), DeKalb (2010), Taylor (2012), Harrison (West Lafayette) (2012), Seymour (1975), New Castle (2011), Indianapolis Manual (2009), Goshen (2004).


Longest current losing streaks

Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, and Indianapolis Cathedral have won 26 consecutive playoff games.

Andrean, Brownstown Central, Columbus East, Eastern Hancock, Evansville Mater Dei, Gibson Southern, Linton-Stockton, New Palestine, Penn, Southport, and Winamac have won 11 games in a row.

Longest current losing streaks

Lafayette Harrison has dropped 36 consecutive games.

Wabash has 28 losses in a row.

Taylor has 26 consecutive losses.

South Dearborn has a 21-game losing streak.

Lawrence North has lost 20 straight games.

Crawfordsville has lost 19 straight games.

DeKalb and Goshen have dropped 13 consecutive games.

Gary Roosevelt and New Castle have dropped 12 games in a row.

Seymour has an 11-game losing streak.

Indianapolis Manual has lost 10 straight games.


Closing in on 150

Herb King (Rockville) 149

Closing in on 100

Kevin Mills (Springs Valley) 98

Pat Parks (Shelbyville) 98

Mike Cheviron (Goshen) 96

Bud Ozmun (Oak Hill) 96

Roger Dodson (Greenfield-Central) 93

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.