The Indiana Football Digest's 2013 Honor Roll









Class 1A: Tri-Central (14-1) won its first championship in football.

Class 2A: Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter (13-2) captured its first title since 2008 and fourth overall.

Class 3A: Andrean (15-0) tallied its second crown and first since 2004.

Class 4A: Columbus East (15-0) earned its second championship and first since 1979,

Class 5A: Indianapolis Cathedral (10-5) made its four straight titles and 11 overall.

Class 6A: Warren Central (11-3) celebrated its eighth championship and first since 2009.

Longest current losing streaks

Indianapolis Cathedral has won 24 consecutive playoff games.

Andrean and Columbus East have won 15 games in a row and both finished 15-0 for the first time in school history.


Jayson West became the first coach to win back-to-back state titles at two different schools. West led Lawrence Central to the Class 5A crown in 2012 and Warren Central to the 6A championship this season.

Eastern Hancock coach Pat Echeverria has stepped down to take a similar position at Zionsville. Echeverria was 23-14 in three seasons with the Royals.

Nick Maksimchuk resigned from his coaching duties after six seasons at Fremont where he compiled a 16-46 record.

Fort Wayne South is looking for a new leader after Eddie Fields stepped down following three years and a 10-21 mark with the Archers.

Longtime Springs Valley coach Kevin Mills announced his resignation after 16 seasons and a 98-73 mark with the Blackhawks.

Friday's attendance for the Class 1A, 3A, and 5A state championships games was 22,136, while Saturday's crowd for the Class 2A, 4A, and 6A contests was 21,849, The two-day total of 43,985 fans was the fifth largest audience.


Cody Howell threw for 167 yards and one touchdown ran for another tally, helping No. 8 Tri-Central down No. 4 Eastern Hancock for the Class 1A state title. Colton Leininger registered 14 tackles, Dillion Smith added 11, and Seth Blunck talled 10 as the Trojans (14-1) avenged an earlier 47-35 setback. Spencer Gilbert rushed for 145 yards and one score, while Kenny Delph and Hunter Knopp racked up 14 and 11 tackles respectively for the Royals (14-1).

Jake Purichia closed out his high school career in grand fashion by having a hand in five touchdowns as No. 2 Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter rolled to a 56-6 win over No. 7 Tipton in the Class 2A final. Purichia, who was the state's leading passer, completed 21-of-31 for 273 yards and two scores. He also ran for two touchdowns and returned a blocked punt 10 yards for another tally. Purichia finished with more than 11,000 yards passing, second all-time, and a state-best 142 touchdowns. Kyree Hollis added two scoring receptions and had two interceptions, including a 42-yard return for a score for the Raiders (13-2). Austin Hooker rushed for 75 yards and one score, and Josh Snyder recorded 11 tackles for the Blue Devils (11-4).

Trevor Berg rambled for 165 yards and two touchdowns, leading top-ranked Andrean to a 35-27 win over No. 7 Brebeuf Jesuit for the Class 3A crown. The two teams combined for a new Class 3A mark of 815 total yards. Matt DeSomer added 199 total yards with a scoring run and pass, and Donovan Chandler tallied 10 tackles and a 46-yard interception return for a touchdown for the 59ers (15-0). Aaron Banks threw for 268 yards and two touchdowns and ran for two more scores, and Chandler Grau added eight catches for 168 yards for the Braves (11-4). Stu Dillon recorded 21 tackles and Tom Cook tallied 13 for Brebeuf.

Paul Baker's fourth quarter extra-point was the difference as No. 1 Columbus East edged Fort Wayne Bishop Dwenger, 28-27, in the Class 4A title affair. The two squads accumulated a new Class 4A mark of 861 yards of offense. Markell Jones rushed for 197 yards and two touchdowns, and Alex Cowan added 142 yards on the ground for the Olympians (15-0).  John Busack and Sam Dwenger chipped in 11 tackles apiece for East. Mike Fiacable passed for 280 yards and three touchdowns, Gus Schrader had seven receptions for 112 yards and two scores, and William Blume added 13 tackles for the Saints (11-4).

Ohio State recruit Terry McLaurin rolled up 170 yards and offense and three touchdowns, lifting No. 5 Indianapolis Cathedral to a 42-18 victory over top-ranked Westfield for the Class 5A championship. Collin Barthel tossed for 177 yards and one score, and Caleb Cross added two rushing tallies for the Irish (10-5). Nick Ferrer racked up 201 yards passing and one scoring run, Elvin Caldwell ran for 114 yards and one touchdown, and Matt Crupi had 14 tackles for the Shamrocks (12-2).

Jeff George tossed for 131 yards, including an 18-yard scoring strike to Zach Gegner, in No. 8 Warren Central's 7-6 win over No. 6 Carmel in the Class 6A state finale. Katrell Moss racked up 13 tackles and Darion Howard added 10 as the Warriors (11-3) won their eighth title in eight appearances. Shakir Paschall rushed for 113 yards, and Adam Kremer booted field goals of 22 and 38 yards for the Greyhounds (10-4).

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

2023 Season Tickets On Sale Now!

2023 Season Tickets On Sale Now!

Our opponents are set! Secure the best seats & best benefits for next season, and be there live for exciting matchups against the Pittsburgh Steelers, Tampa Bay Buccaneers and more of the NFL's best opponents. Request more info or view our 3D Seat Viewer below!