Skip to main content

Robert Mathis Named to Sixth Straight Pro Bowl

Robert Mathis is the lone Colts Pro Bowl representative for the 2014 contest to be held on January 26 in Honolulu. Mathis has earned a sixth straight nomination to rank among the franchise’s elite players.





INDIANAPOLIS – Robert Mathis has been selected to the 2014 Pro Bowl that will be played on January 26 in Honolulu.

It is the sixth straight choice for Mathis, a streak that ranks among the franchise's bests on an overall and consecutive season basis.

"It's very special when you get in, just knowing you are one of the elite players at your position," said Mathis.  "It's an honor.  I don't care who you are or how many times you get voted it, it's an honor to be voted and play in that game. 

"I never take it for granted, and it's a lot of fun.  It's something you remember for the rest of your life.  It's a blessing to play in that game.  It never gets old."

Mathis has produced one of his finest seasons in 2013 with 58 tackles, 17.5 sacks (103.5 yards), 12 loss-tackles, 19 QB hits and eight forced fumbles. 

With 17.5 sacks this year and 109.0 for his career, Mathis has established the franchise seasonal and career records, surpassing totals set by Dwight Freeney (16.0, 2004; 107.5, 2002-12).  Mathis is trying to join Freeney (2004) as the franchise's only NFL sack champions.  Mathis trails St. Louis' Robert Quinn (18.0) heading into Sunday.

Mathis has a club seasonal-mark six multi-sack games this season, pushing his career total to 26, also a club mark (25, Freeney).  Mathis has takedowns in 84 different games, a club mark (81, Freeney), and his 43 career sack-strips are the NFL record (39, Jason Taylor). 

Mathis has nailed 54 opposing players for sacks and has sacks against all 31 teams.  He has sacks in 84-of-162 career games, in 55-of-98 starts and in 11-of-15 outings this year.

Mathis' six straight nominations rank behind Gino Marchetti (11), Peyton Manning (9), John Unitas (8), Jim Parker (8), Marvin Harrison (8) and alongside Chris Hinton (6) for the most in Colts history.

Six overall choices for Mathis rank behind Marchetti and Manning (11), Unitas (10), Parker and Harrison (8), Lenny Moore and Freeney (7) and alongside Raymond Berry, Chris Hinton and Reggie Wayne.

"Pro Bowl?  He's Hall of Fame from my standpoint," said Greg Manusky.  "He's just the type of player that if he was playing the 'rush' end for all the years that he's been playing defensive end, he would probably have a lot more sacks.  I think he's just a great guy, great football player, great ability and just top notch."

The Pro Bowl this year will not feature the traditional AFC-NFC look that has stood since 1971.  Under a new format, players have been selected without regard to conference.

Players will be assigned to teams through a Pro Bowl Draft on January 21-22.  On January 21, 11 per team will be drafted at certain position groups – guards, centers, fullback, interior defensive linemen, punters and special teamers.  The remaining players will be drafted the following day.

Pro Football Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders will serve as alumni captains for the squads and have final say over draft decisions.  They each will be assisted by two active player captains and one fantasy champion in the draft process.

The four active player captains will be comprised of the top two leading vote-getters on offense and defense from the teams that do not advance to the conference championship round of the playoffs.

A coin toss will determine draft choice order and the pairing of captains.

Each roster will have 21 offensive (WR-4; OT-3; OG-3; C-2; TE-2; QB-3; RB-3; FB-1) and 18 defensive players (DE-3; DT-3; OLB-3; ILB-2; CB-4; S-3).  There will be one punter, kicker, special teamer, returner and "need" player selected by the coach.


11, DE-Gino Marchetti, 1954-64

9, QB-Peyton Manning, 2002-10

8, QB-John Unitas, 1957-64

8, OG/T-Jim Parker, 1958-65

8, WR-Marvin Harrison, 1999-2006

6, OG/T-Chris Hinton, 1983-89

6, DE-Robert Mathis, 2008-13

5, RB-Lenny Moore, 1958-62

5, WR-Reggie Wayne, 2006-10

4, RB-Alan Ameche, 1955-58

4, WR-Raymond Berry, 1958-61

4, TE-John Mackey, 1965-68

4, C-Ray Donaldson, 1986-89

4, DE-Dwight Freeney, 2008-11


11, DE-Gino Marchetti, 1954-64

11, QB-Peyton Manning, 1999-2000, 2002-10

10, QB-John Unitas, 1957-64, 66-67

8, OG/T-Jim Parker, 1958-65

8, WR-Marvin Harrison, 1999-2006

7, RB-Lenny Moore, 1956, 58-62, 64

7, DE-Dwight Freeney, 2003-05, 08-11

6, WR-Raymond Berry, 1958-61, 63-64

6, OG/T-Chris Hinton, 1983-89

6, WR-Reggie Wayne, 2006-10, 12

6, DE-Robert Mathis, 2008-13

5, TE-John Mackey, 1963, 65-68

5, Jeff Saturday, 2005-07, 09-10

4, RB-Alan Ameche, 1955-58

4, C-Ray Donaldson, 1986-89

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Single Game Tickets On Sale Now!

Our 2024 schedule is set! Secure your seats to all home games at Lucas Oil Stadium now.