Carey Indiana - click here to make your reservation



The Indiana Football Digest's 2013 Insider Volume XIII

Posted Nov 11, 2013




Fort Wayne Concordia ended F.W. Bishop Luers’ 26-game playoff winning streak with a 42-21 victory in the Class 3A Sectional 27 title game.

Silver Creek coach Mike Donahue has stepped down after four seasons. His overall mark was 7-25, including a 4-7 record this year and the school’s first post-season win.

Indianapolis North Central coach Keith Shelton has resigned after five seasons. Shelton compiled a 16-38 record, including a 3-8 this year.

Western coach Nate Andrews has resigned after two seasons to take over at his alma mater NorthWood. The 1996 graduate had a 15-8 record at Western and is 40-39 overall in seven years.

Penn claimed its 14th regional championship with a 33-6 win over Lake Central.

Carmel won the school’s 16th regional crown by cruising to a 38-7 win over Carroll (Fort Wayne).

Central Grove won its third straight regional crown with a 56-14 win over previously unbeaten Southport.

Warren Central earned its first regional championship since 2009 by rallying for a 24-21 win over Indianapolis Pike.

Southridge ended Evansville Mater Dei’s hopes for a perfect season with a 21-19 win in the Class 2A Sectional 40 final.

East Chicago Central celebrated its first sectional championship with a 46-44 win over Gary West in the Class 4A Sectional 17 title game.

Brebeuf Jesuit earned its first sectional crown with a 42-21 decision over Tri-West in Class 3A Sectional 29 action.

Oak Hill won its first sectional title since 1996 with a 35-14 victory over Alexandria in Class 2A Sectional 36 play.

Terre Haute North captured its first sectional crown since 1986 with a 42-7 triumph over Evansville North in the Class 5A Sectional 16 finale.


Here is the last time the following teams started 12-0.

Andrean (2003), Gibson Southern (first time), Columbus East (2012), New Prairie (first time), Eastern Hancock (first time), Brownstown Central (2003), Winamac (2000), New Palestine (first time), Penn (2011), Linton-Stockton (2012).


Here is the last time the following teams won a regional crown.

Class 6A: Penn-12-0 (2011), Carmel-9-3 (2011), Warren Central-9-3 (2009), Center Grove-11-1 (2012).

Here is the last time the following teams won a sectional championship.

Class 5A: Mishawaka-9-3 (2012), Concord-9-2 (2012), Westfield-10-1 (2007), F.W. Snider-9-2 (2012), Indianapolis Cathedral-7-5 (2012), Whiteland-9-2 (2006), Bloomington North-7-4 (2010), Terre Haute North-9-2 (1986).

Class 4A: East Chicago Central-10-2 (first time), New Prairie-12-0 (2006), F.W. Bishop Dwenger-9-3 (2012), New Haven-11-1 (2010), New Palestine-12-0 (2009), Bishop Chatard-9-3 (2012), Columbus East-12-0 (2012), Jasper-11-1 (2010).

Class 3A: Andrean-12-0 (2012), Jimtown-10-2 (2011), F.W. Concordia-9-3 (2007), West Lafayette-11-1 (2011), Brebeuf Jesuit-9-3 (first time), Guerin Catholic-5-7 (2011), Brownstown Central-12-0 (2010), Gibson Southern-12-0 (2012).

Class 2A: Rensselaer Central-10-2 (2010), Bremen-9-3 (2011), Tipton-9-3 (2012), Oak Hill-9-3 (1996), Cardinal Ritter-10-2 (2012), Scecina Memorial-10-2 (2012), Paoli-10-2 (2009), Southridge-10-2 (2008).

Class 1A: Winamac-12-0 (2012), Pioneer-10-2 (2008), South Adams-5-7 (1996), Tri-Central-11-1 (1991), Eastern Hancock-12-0 (2006), South Putnam-11-1 (2011), Fountain Central-11-1 (2011), Linton-Stockton-12-0 (2012).


Longest current losing streaks

Indianapolis Bishop Chatard and Indianapolis Cathedral have won 27 consecutive playoff games.

Andrean, Brownstown Central, Columbus East, Eastern Hancock, Gibson Southern, Linton-Stockton, New Palestine, New Prairie, Penn, and Winamac have won 12 games in a row.


Closing in on 100

Bud Ozmun (Oak Hill) 97

Stay up-to-date on everything Colts! Sign-up for the Colts E-newsletter
Leave your comments below Join the COLTSTRONG Fan Community

Recent Videos

  • Colts players recognize USA Football month


    Indianapolis Colts players Anthony Castonzo, Adam Vinatieri, Cory Redding, Andrew Luck and Pat McAfee recognize August as USA Football Month, saluting USA Football as the sport’s leader in coaching education and player development on high school and youth levels.

  • ALS Ice Bucket Challenge Colts Compilation


    Take a look back at the Ice Bucket Challenges Colts players, coaches, and front office executives took part in to help raise money and awareness for the fight against ALS.

Recent Photos