Peyton Manning, Marshall Faulk To Be Inducted Into College Football Hall Of Fame

Posted Jan 9, 2017

Intro: Former Colts greats Peyton Manning and Marshall Faulk on Monday were announced among the 10 former first-team All-American players included in the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

INDIANAPOLIS — While Peyton Manning’s induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame is still a few years away, the former Indianapolis Colts great quarterback on Monday was honored for his excellence in the college game.

Manning was announced as a first-ballot selection to the College Football Hall of Fame, which will formally induct the former University of Tennessee signal caller to its Class of 2017 on Dec. 5 in New York.

He’ll be joined that night by another former Colts great, running back Marshall Faulk, a 2011 Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, who was also among the 10 former first-team All-Americans included in this year's College Football Hall of Fame class.

Manning went 39-6 in his four-year career at Tennessee from 1994 to 1997, when he threw for 11,201 yards with 89 touchdowns and finished runner up to Charles Woodson in the voting for the Heisman Trophy award his senior year.

Throughout his Tennessee career, he broke 42 NCAA, Southeastern Conference and school records, and won the Maxwell Award as the nation’s most outstanding player, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award in 1997, when his Volunteers squad on the SEC championship.

Faulk, meanwhile, didn’t take long to make his mark as a standout running back at San Diego State, where he became the first freshman in NCAA history to lead the country in rushing (he had 158 rushing yards per game) and scoring (15.6 points per game). That year, he finished ninth in the Heisman Voting, the highest finish for a freshman in college football since Herschel Walker’s third-place finish in 1980.

In his three incredible seasons at San Diego State (1991-1993), he set or tied 19 collegiate records. He ran for 200 yards seven times, and eclipsed 300 yards on two occasions. In three years, he collected 4,589 rushing yards, the fourth most among three-year players in NCAA history, and his 62 touchdowns were the second-most ever in the NCAA.

Both Faulk (second-overall in 1994) and Manning (first-overall in 1998) were first-round draft selections of the Colts, where they would build their professional Hall of Fame careers, as well.

Faulk played for the Colts for five seasons from 1994 to 1998 before moving on to the St. Louis Rams. In his time in Indianapolis, he ran 1,389 times for 5,320 yards with 42 rushing touchdowns, while catching 297 passes for 2,804 yards and another nine scores. He was a three-time Pro Bowler (1994, 1995, 1998) with the Colts, and was the 1994 NFL AP Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Faulk was inducted into the Colts' Ring of Honor in 2013.

Manning played 13 seasons with the Colts, where he won 141 games and captured MVP honors in the team’s victory in Super Bowl XLI, and also led the franchise to an appearance in Super Bowl XLIV.

In Indianapolis, Manning completed 4,682-of-7,210 (64.9 percent) of his passes for 54,929 yards and 399 touchdowns. He also had 17 rushing touchdowns in his time with the Colts. A four-time league MVP in Indy — he also won the award in 2013 with the Denver Broncos — Manning was voted to 14 Pro Bowls in his career, and is considered by many to be the greatest quarterback of all-time.

Here is the entire College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017:


    ⁃    BOB CRABLE – LB, Notre Dame (1978-81)
    ⁃    MARSHALL FAULK – RB, San Diego State (1991-93)
    ⁃    KIRK GIBSON – WR, Michigan State (1975-78)
    ⁃    MATT LEINART – QB, Southern California (2003-05)
    ⁃    PEYTON MANNING – QB, Tennessee (1994-97)
    ⁃    BOB McKAY – OT, Texas (1968-69)
    ⁃    DAT NGUYEN – LB, Texas A&M (1995-98)
    ⁃    ADRIAN PETERSON – RB, Georgia Southern (1998-2001)
    ⁃    MIKE RUTH – NG, Boston College (1982-85)
    ⁃    BRIAN URLACHER – DB, New Mexico (1996-99)


    ⁃    DANNY FORD – Clemson (1978-89), Arkansas (1993-97)
    ⁃    LARRY KEHRES – Mount Union (Ohio) (1986-2012)
    ⁃    STEVE SPURRIER – Duke (1987-89), Florida (1990-2001), South Carolina (2005-15)

Stay up-to-date on everything Colts! Sign-up for the Colts E-newsletter
Leave your comments below Join the COLTSTRONG Fan Community

Recent News

Recent Videos

Recent Photos